The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 05, 2005, 06:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Under NIRSA, you're right.

B encroaches, A captain has the penalty option for 5 yards (down remains the same either way as it is a dead ball penalty). If B encroaches before the next snap (i.e., don't enforce this 10 minutes later), then A's captain has the option to accept or decline a 10 yard penalty.

As a note, A can take the 10 yard penalty even if they declined the 5 yard penalty. I doubt you'll see this often. If you do, either (a) A just got the ball at their 14-yard line (the purpose of the 10-yard penalty) or (b) your LJ should be a bit more lenient on an inexperienced defensive line.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1