The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   I know I've seen this somewhere (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21432-i-know-ive-seen-somewhere.html)

DrMooreReferee Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:48pm

The play where the snap comes back to the holder and he places it down on the tee. The kicker runs up and plucks it right off the tee and runs for a score.

Is this legal???

If not, where can I find the info?

grantsrc Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:06pm

There was a thread here not too long ago on this scenario. I looked but couldn't find it. You might want to try and search for it.

MJT Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrMooreReferee
The play where the snap comes back to the holder and he places it down on the tee. The kicker runs up and plucks it right off the tee and runs for a score.

Is this legal???

If not, where can I find the info?

The ball is dead when the kicker picks it up. 4-2-2a-exception 1 - The ball remains live if,... catches or recovers the snap while on his knee(s) is on the ground and places the ball for a kick, or if he rises to advance, <b>hand</b>, kick or pass. Since the holder did not rise, if he is holding it down for the kick, he is in contact with the ball when it is touched by a teammate (the definition for handing) - so the ball would become dead because the exception was not met.

waltjp Sun Jul 24, 2005 08:45am

Hmmm. I should have read the current threads before posting my last question.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1