The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Intentional grounding (NFL Rules) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/20734-intentional-grounding-nfl-rules.html)

okie963 Tue Jun 07, 2005 07:16am

Can a QB scramble outside of the Tackle, then back behind the center and still be called for intentional grounding when he throws the ball away? I thought once he goes out of the pocket the "Pocket" was gone for good. What do you think?

Dommer1 Tue Jun 07, 2005 09:01am

Your thinking is correct: NFL rule 8-3-1, Note 5:
When the ball, either in possession or loose, leaves the area bordered by the tackles, this area no longer exists. All intentional grounding rules apply as if the passer is outside this area (as stated in Note 1 above).

okie963 Tue Jun 07, 2005 09:11am

Thanks for the quick response. I just found this site today. It is very informative. I am sure I will have more "officiating" questions.

Dommer1 Tue Jun 07, 2005 09:27am

Bring 'em on, were happy to help!

Just remember to do what you did with this question; specify if it is NF (High School), NCAA (college) or NFL you're after. The rules differ greatly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1