The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Play? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/20349-play.html)

tpaul Sun May 15, 2005 09:25pm

Team A scores a touchdown as the third period expires. Team A's two-point try is (a) unsuccessful, or (b) successful. A84 is flagged for pass interference. What is the proper procedure?

Ed Hickland Sun May 15, 2005 10:08pm

The touchdown is part of the third period.

The extra point is an extension of the period (NFHS 3-3-3d).

If the try is successful B will no doubt take the penalty which includes loss of down, the period is ended without A getting the opportunity to retry the down. A's points are lost. NFHS 2005 Revision to 3-3-4.

If the try is unsuccessful same thing.

ljudge Mon May 16, 2005 07:54am

I agree with Ed's ruling. Now if the defense had fouled on a successful try team A could accept the results of the play and have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot and it would NOT be a further extension of the 3rd quarter even though it's a live-ball player foul. The foul would be enforced for the 4th quarter kickoff.

Bob M. Mon May 16, 2005 11:45am

REPLY: A few years back (2003, I think) the Fed made an imprudent change to NF 3-3-3 to say that if a foul occurred during the last down of a period (note: it used to say the last <b><i><u>timed</u></i></b> down) and the penalty was accepted, the down would be replayed. I believe they did it so that they would no longer need the note which said that if a an accepted penalty occurred during the extended down, they'd need to do it again until a foul-free down occurred. In any case, as a result, the try was still a down and any fouls during the try would fall under the rule as well. As a result even fouls that carried over would require that the succeeding kickoff be part of an extended quarter. Once they realized how they had inadvertently screwed it up, they changed the rule 2004 to read as it had in 2002 and before with the appropriate reference to fouls occurring druing the last <u>timed</u> down.

JugglingReferee Tue May 17, 2005 09:00pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Team A scores a touchdown as the third period expires. Team A's two-point try is (a) unsuccessful, or (b) successful. A84 is flagged for pass interference. What is the proper procedure?
(a) B may choose to apply the 15 yards in the 3rd quarter (an induced kick-off), or in the 4th quarter. This allows the non-offending team to take advantage of elements such as wind.

(b) Re-try the covert 15 yards back, or from the previous spot and then follow (a)

tpaul Wed May 18, 2005 08:20pm

Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Team A scores a touchdown as the third period expires. Team A's two-point try is (a) unsuccessful, or (b) successful. A84 is flagged for pass interference. What is the proper procedure?
(a) B may choose to apply the 15 yards in the 3rd quarter (an induced kick-off), or in the 4th quarter. This allows the non-offending team to take advantage of elements such as wind.

(b) Re-try the covert 15 yards back, or from the previous spot and then follow (a)


Look at Ed Hicklands answer...perfect :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1