The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2005, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Re: 8.5.2 SITUATION D

Quote:
Originally posted by KWH
OK, so...
In the Casebook play 8.5.2 SITUATION D,
Why is Team A not "technically" guilty of multiple fouls?

1) Illegal Forward Pass, 7-5-2c - A pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive reciever.
2) Illegal Touching, 7-5-13 - An ineligible A player has illegally touched a forward pass if he bats, muffs, or catches a forward pass while he is in or behind the neutral zone, unless the pass has been touched by B.
There is no proof in the description that there wasn't an eligible receiver in the area. So what we should rule on here is again based on what we assume. I would agree that you can't have illegal touching if there is no receiver in the area. The pass was illegal before it was touched.

It might be similar to having an offensive blocker hold a defender by the facemask. You aren't going to call holding and facefask.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1