The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
But in the Case Book ruling the foul was not an illegal forward pass.

8.5.2 SITUATION D: Fourth and 15 for A from its own 8-yard line. A1 is in punt formation and receives the snap in his end zone, but fumbles the ball. A1 quickly recovers and throws a forward pass to ineligible A2, who is also in the end zone. A2 muffs the ball and it falls incomplete. RULING: If B accepts the penalty for A2's illegal touching, it results in a safety. If B declines the penalty for the foul by A2, the result is B's ball first and goal from A's 8-yard line. (5-1-3c; 7-5-13 Pen; 8-5-2c; 10-5-6)

It was illegal touching. So this was a legal pass and the spot of enforcement is not the end of the run. It was ruled illegal touching and even though that would be a spot foul it can be declined without a safety being awarded.

8-5-2c was the basic point of my arguement against the example above.

8-5-2c. A player on offense commits any foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his end zone; or throws an illegal forward pass from his end zone and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1