The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 14, 2004, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
AlexH, I had to think about your post a little bit. Truth is, that rules say only the second point (where pass ends), but don´t say the first one. I don´t know, why I wrote that:-) Despite that, I still think, that I am right.
There are two articles, where is the first point "discussed." 2-19-2-b can´t be considered, I believe, because it´s about "special" thing - when the QB is tackled. Main goal of 2-19-3-b is not determing of that "first" point, but when ruling illegal pass (due to crossing the neutral zone), it shall be considered "when the ball is released;" not when the forward move of arm starts.
And on example. Two players are running toward opponent´s goal line. They are beyond the NZ and one of them throws a pass, which flies exactly parallel to the goal line. Under "my" ruling, that would a legal play, because it was a backward pass (pass started and ended on the same yard (and foot and inch) line, but under your ruling it would be illegal forward pass, because pass started behind the spot, where the ball was caught - due to the fact, that the passer is running (the swing of his arm started on B-21, but ball was released on B-20).

Yes, I know, this is discussion about nothing and when on the field, nobody knows where exactly (on inches) was the ball thrown, but if someone could contribute and solve the problem, where pass starts, I would sleep better:-))
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1