![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
When diving out of bounds its the spot of the ball where you land.
When punting and kicking its where the ball crosses the out of bounds line. But when a player has position, the ball is not out of bounds until the player is, and by rule . . . "A player or an airborne player is out of bounds when any part of his person touches anything other than another player or game official, on or outside a boundary line." |
|
|||
|
From the 2014 Case Book ...
2.26.3 SITUATION: Runner A1 is advancing towards B's goal line and is very near the sideline. a. A1 advances into B's end zone while holding the ball outside the sideline plane; or b. A1 dives toward the end zone, but is hit by B1 which causes him to land out of bounds beyond the goal-line extended. A1's last contact with the ground was short of the goal line. In both cases the ball breaks the plane of B's goal-line extended. RULING: • In (a), it is a touchdown because A1 was touching inbounds when the ball broke the plane of the goal-line extended. • In (b) since A1 was not touching inbounds and was short of the goal line when he was hit, it is not a touchdown even though the ball did break the goal-line plane extended. The ball is spotted at the inbounds spot on the yard line where the foremost point of the ball crossed the sideline plane when A1 was driven out of bounds. Sorry, I missed where this was posted on Page 2 of the thread. Last edited by ump33; Mon Nov 30, 2015 at 07:42am. |
|
|||
|
That's OK: it was 11 years ago.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Again.....no. It would be placed at the foremost spot where the ball intersected the sideline....he does not get the benefit of another 18-36 inches to where he contacts any out of bounds area or persons OOB. You are essentially confusing goal line extended with ball crossing the sideline. Think of where a punt / fumble crosses the sideline and where or how it is marked.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...." Last edited by Canned Heat; Thu Dec 03, 2015 at 03:01pm. |
|
|||
|
What's the benefit of locking it? It's not a terrifically long thread, so someone interested in the subject can easily read thru it, and if they still have Qs, what better thread to post them in?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|