The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Little help (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16226-little-help.html)

SouthGARef Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:19pm

Normal scrimmage down. Intercepted by B1 in their own endzone. Ball is never advanced out, but B2 blocks in the back while B1 runs around in the endzone.

How do you enforce?

Texoma_LJ Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:23pm

At work and no book... But, will take a shot and say that since the foul occured during a running play, and the basic spot would be the 20 yard line. The foul is enforced under the all-but-one principal. Therefore the spot of enforcement would be in the endzone and therefore a safety for Team A.

Theisey Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:29pm

Safety by penalty.

Patton Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:43pm

Did the block in the back occur in the endzone? By the answers so far, the assumption is the foul occured in the EZ. However, if the foul occured at the 2, then the penalty would be enforced from there.

[Edited by Patton on Nov 1st, 2004 at 12:51 PM]

SouthGARef Mon Nov 01, 2004 01:12pm

Yes, the BIB occured in the endzone. I personally believe it's a safety.

Got two friends--one of which has been doing this for years--says to enforce from the 20 and give B the ball at the 10. Can't find it in the case book. Appreciate rules refences and such.



[Edited by SouthGARef on Nov 1st, 2004 at 05:22 PM]

mcrowder Mon Nov 01, 2004 01:50pm

Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.

Patton Mon Nov 01, 2004 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.
I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.

Casebook play 10.5.5 Situation A: B1 intercepts a pass in his own end zone and is tackled there after attempting to advance. During B1's run, B2 clips A1 at B's 4-yard line. Ruling: The basic enforcement spot is the 20-yard line. If the penalty is accepted it will be inforced from the spot of the foul, B's ball first and 10 from B's 2-yard line. If the penalty is declined, it is B's ball first and 10 from B's 20-yard line.

Mike Simonds Mon Nov 01, 2004 02:53pm

Have to agree with General Patton on this one also.

By rule the basic is the succeeding spot (B's 20 yard line) when the final result of the play is a touchback.

By rule, all fouls except one are enforced from the basic spot, and that is a foul by the offense behind the basic spot.

When B intercepts the pass, they become the offense at that time. (Side note: as officials, we need to always be aware of the status of the ball at the time of the foul: which team is possession, and whether it was loose or in player possession, and whether it was live or dead).

After the change of possession, where did the foul by B occur? If its in B's endzone, then its a safety, if its in the field of play behind B's 20 its a spot foul, and if its beyond B's 20 then enforce it from the basic spot (B's 20 yard line).

P.S. Also, who provided the force that put the ball into B's end zone? It was the pass by A, and the ball become dead there in B's possession. B never advanced the ball out of the endzone, therefore its a touchback...

[Edited by Mike Simonds on Nov 1st, 2004 at 02:57 PM]

Bob M. Mon Nov 01, 2004 02:55pm

REPLY: Patton is correct. The <u>basic</u> spot is the succeeding spot (B's 20). But the <u>enforcement</u> spot determined by the all-but-one principle is the spot of the foul (in B's endzone). Therefore, a safety results.

ABoselli Mon Nov 01, 2004 03:24pm

I'm with Bob M. here.

Basic spot is the succeeding spot. All-but-one says we enforce from the spot of the foul. If the enforcement is from behind their own goal line, safety.

Jim S Mon Nov 01, 2004 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.
The basic spot is not the EZ on this play. The offense put the ball into the EZ. (Ignore the foul for a second) Therefore if the run ends in the EZ (without B taking the ball out of the EZ) the basic spot is the 20 since the result of the play is a touchback.
Now you factor in the foul. Since the foul occurs behind the basic spot you enforce from the spot of the foul. In this case the EZ, thereby the safety.
In your case the basic spot would still be the 20, but the enforcement spot would be the 2. Ball 1st & 10 on the 1.

Texoma_LJ Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:14pm

Wow... seems after reading this forum all season long and making it a habit to study the rule book, things are beginning to sink in and I'm retaining something.
That's a scary thought !!!

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:33pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SouthGARef
Normal scrimmage down. Intercepted by B1 in their own endzone. Ball is never advanced out, but B2 blocks in the back while B1 runs around in the endzone.

How do you enforce?

Apply from the 20... Team B 1D/10 @ B-10.

kdf5 Tue Nov 02, 2004 07:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Patton
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.
I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.

Casebook play 10.5.5 Situation A: B1 intercepts a pass in his own end zone and is tackled there after attempting to advance. During B1's run, B2 clips A1 at B's 4-yard line. Ruling: The basic enforcement spot is the 20-yard line. If the penalty is accepted it will be inforced from the spot of the foul, B's ball first and 10 from B's 2-yard line. If the penalty is declined, it is B's ball first and 10 from B's 20-yard line.

The case book play you quoted says "the penalty in enforced from the spot of the foul". Since the spot of the foul is in the endzone, you have a safety. Actually the original post doesn't say where the penalty occurred but I believe by reading the post that the foul occurred in the EZ. Anyway, by enforcing from the spot of the foul, you are consistent, like Bob M said in enforcing per the all-but-one principle.

Forksref Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by Patton
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.
I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.

Casebook play 10.5.5 Situation A: B1 intercepts a pass in his own end zone and is tackled there after attempting to advance. During B1's run, B2 clips A1 at B's 4-yard line. Ruling: The basic enforcement spot is the 20-yard line. If the penalty is accepted it will be inforced from the spot of the foul, B's ball first and 10 from B's 2-yard line. If the penalty is declined, it is B's ball first and 10 from B's 20-yard line.

Gonna go with Patton. In principle, B never brought the ball into the endzone, thus a safety should not be considered. The 20-yd line touchback scenario makes sense. Thanks for the rule reference.

Patton Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by kdf5
The case book play you quoted says "the penalty in enforced from the spot of the foul". Since the spot of the foul is in the endzone, you have a safety. Actually the original post doesn't say where the penalty occurred but I believe by reading the post that the foul occurred in the EZ. Anyway, by enforcing from the spot of the foul, you are consistent, like Bob M said in enforcing per the all-but-one principle.
We got a little off track from the original thread, but if you look back you will see that I asked where did the BIB occur. If it occured in the EZ (which SouthGARef later said it did), then yes, we have a safety. If it occurred between the goal line and B's 20 then we would enforce from the spot of the foul. If it occurred at or beyond B's 20 we would enforce from B's 20. I think that covers it. :)

kdf5 Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:10pm

[/B][/QUOTE]
Gonna go with Patton. In principle, B never brought the ball into the endzone, thus a safety should not be considered. The 20-yd line touchback scenario makes sense. Thanks for the rule reference. [/B][/QUOTE]

The basic spot is the succeeding spot...that's true. However, the enforcement spot is behind the basic spot (all but one principle) so you enforce from there and since it's in B's endzone you have a safety.

refburn04 Tue Nov 02, 2004 04:46pm

I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.

OK, let's look at:
10-6 ENFORCEMENT SPOTS, ALL-BUT-ONE PRINCIPLE "Unless otherwise listed in Section 4 and 5, a penalty for a foul occurring during a play is enforced from the basic spot with the exception of a foul by the offense which occurs behind the basic spot during a loose ball play or a running play.This particular foul is enforced from the spot of the foul."

So it seems that "all but one" does not apply to
Rule 10-4-5(d). No safety, enforce from the succeeding spot.

As a basic rule of fairness we penalize the offense with all but one to negate the advantage gained by that foul.
If the offense is holding or BIB or committing other live ball fouls in their end zone they are preventing the defense of a chance to score a safety had they not been fouled.

So if B gains possession in the end zone and is downed there, there is no legal way for A to get a safety with or without being fouled.






Patton Tue Nov 02, 2004 05:12pm

refburn04, I understand what you are getting at and agree with your principal (and a few others on the board), but that is not how the NFHS sees it according to the casebook play (10.5.5)

kdf5 Tue Nov 02, 2004 05:50pm

Casebook play 10-5-5 A says the foul occured at the 4 and the ball is in B's own endone after the INT. If this is the case then you go to the basic spot which is the succeeding spot (the 20). Since the spot of the foul is behind the 20 (at the 4), you go from the 4 to the 2.

If the penalty occurs in the EZ and the ball is in the endzone then it's a safety. Anyone agree?

SouthGARef Tue Nov 02, 2004 06:04pm

I personally see both sides. It ends in a touchback, basic spot is the 20. ABO enforcement, enforce from SOF. Since this foul is in the endzone, safety.

I also see the other side of the argument. B didn't force the ball into the endzone. The force that put the ball into Bs endzone was As pass.

It's a weird situation, and the guys around here are disagreeing. Wanted to get different opinions. Since we can't all agree on a definate answer, maybe there's someone up in the NFHS office we can ask?

Texoma_LJ Tue Nov 02, 2004 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refburn04
I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.

OK, let's look at:
10-6 ENFORCEMENT SPOTS, ALL-BUT-ONE PRINCIPLE "Unless otherwise listed in Section 4 and 5, a penalty for a foul occurring during a play is enforced from the basic spot with the exception of a foul by the offense which occurs behind the basic spot during a loose ball play or a running play.This particular foul is enforced from the spot of the foul."

So it seems that "all but one" does not apply to
Rule 10-4-5(d). No safety, enforce from the succeeding spot.

As a basic rule of fairness we penalize the offense with all but one to negate the advantage gained by that foul.
If the offense is holding or BIB or committing other live ball fouls in their end zone they are preventing the defense of a chance to score a safety had they not been fouled.

So if B gains possession in the end zone and is downed there, there is no legal way for A to get a safety with or without being fouled.






I dont agree with this line of thinking being relative to enforcing the penalty.
The premise is that the defense is not capable of scoring on the play because of the penalty itself. The team in possesion could gain an advantage to run the ball all the way to the other endzone and score is just as feasible.
Secondly, rule 10-4-5 refers to basic spots, not the enforcement spot,
This play, in MHO, is no different than a BIB during a pass play that occurs in the endzone. How the ball got in the endzone is not relative, the team in possesion could have just as easily have taken a knee and solved all our problems.

[Edited by Texoma_LJ on Nov 2nd, 2004 at 07:59 PM]

Bob M. Wed Nov 03, 2004 09:18am

REPLY: The way I read NF 10-6 is all related to enforcement spots. It seems to say that unless a special enforcement spot is specified in 10-4 or 10-5, then the following procedure prevails: Enforce from the basic spot or from the spot of the foul if the penalty is by the offense behind the basic spot. Since 10-4 and 10-5 says nothing about a special <u>enforcement</u> spot for this situation, then all-but-one enforcement should rule. Yes, 10-4-5 does talk about a 'special' <u>basic</u> spot for enforcement, but not about a special <u>enforcement</u> spot. Therefore, your foul--by the offense--behind the basic spot (B's 20) becomes a spot foul and results in a safety.

For those who are saying that they believe that the penalty should be enforced from B's 20, how would you handle the same play if, instead of B's foul occurring in the endzone, it occurred on B's 1 ?

mcrowder Wed Nov 03, 2004 09:40am

Texoma - while I agree with everyone saying that this is a safety by the book, I disagree with your logic of what this SHOULD be. (IMHO, they should fix this loophole in the books).

Your logic is that this is just like a BIB or hold in the EZ during a pass play, and since that's a safety, so should this be. But the plays are different in one key way. On the pass play, the foul could very likely have prevented what would have been a safety, since QB was in the EZ on his own volition and had to exit or throw to avoid a safety. On the kick play, the foul could not have prevented a safety. Had the runner failed to exit the EZ, it would have been a TB, not a safety.

If we're talking about what this play SHOULD be (and not how the book is written), then this SHOULD be enforced from the 20.

Theisey Wed Nov 03, 2004 09:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by SouthGARef
I personally see both sides. It ends in a touchback, basic spot is the 20. ABO enforcement, enforce from SOF. Since this foul is in the endzone, safety.

I also see the other side of the argument. B didn't force the ball into the endzone. The force that put the ball into Bs endzone was As pass.

It's a weird situation, and the guys around here are disagreeing. Wanted to get different opinions. Since we can't all agree on a definate answer, maybe there's someone up in the NFHS office we can ask?

+_+ Who cares who put the ball into the EZ. The foul was in the EZ and that's all that matters.
Change the play slightly. Have B21 intercepting at the B-2 yardline and B88 illegal blocks in the EZ. Team-A didn't put the pass into the EZ, but the foul is in the EZ. Same result against B.

Texoma_LJ Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Texoma - while I agree with everyone saying that this is a safety by the book, I disagree with your logic of what this SHOULD be. (IMHO, they should fix this loophole in the books).

Your logic is that this is just like a BIB or hold in the EZ during a pass play, and since that's a safety, so should this be. But the plays are different in one key way. On the pass play, the foul could very likely have prevented what would have been a safety, since QB was in the EZ on his own volition and had to exit or throw to avoid a safety. On the kick play, the foul could not have prevented a safety. Had the runner failed to exit the EZ, it would have been a TB, not a safety.

If we're talking about what this play SHOULD be (and not how the book is written), then this SHOULD be enforced from the 20.

My arguement is based upon the rule book as is... not as it should be rewritten. There is definitely a need to address this issue, but again, as written "it is what it is".

mikesears Thu Nov 04, 2004 08:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
... Had the runner failed to exit the EZ, it would have been a TB, not a safety.

Unless B then fumbled and A recovered. Then we'd have a touchdown for A.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1