The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   penalty enforcement -line to gain (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16209-penalty-enforcement-line-gain.html)

pinchmaster Sun Oct 31, 2004 08:14am

Hi friends, newbie here.I have a question about enforcing penalty when penalty is past line to gain. 2ND and 10 ,run play,handoff to A1 ,gains 40 yds. Flag is thrown for holding near the end of run. Flag is spot of foul,mark back ten yards,ball is still 25 yards beyond l to g .Is it a first down even on a penalty? (high school)What about a block behind the back in same situation.The more I read my book the more confused I get.

BktBallRef Sun Oct 31, 2004 08:30am

If after enforcement, the ball is still beyond the line to gain, it's a 1st down.

It doesn't matter what the foul is.

MJT Sun Oct 31, 2004 01:15pm

Enforce the penalty as you should, and if they are beyond the LTG (line to gain), it would be 1st down. If you remember that, you'll be fine.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 01, 2004 08:18am

Hmmm, I thought that was what I said.

Rich Mon Nov 01, 2004 08:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If after enforcement, the ball is still beyond the line to gain, it's a 1st down.

It doesn't matter what the foul is.

Unless it's a dead ball foul before the RFP -- then you'll determine whether it's a first down before marking off the penalty. Then step off the penalty and THEN set the chains.

And I know this has nothing to do with the original poster's play :)

Ed Hickland Mon Nov 01, 2004 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by pinchmaster
Hi friends, newbie here.I have a question about enforcing penalty when penalty is past line to gain. 2ND and 10 ,run play,handoff to A1 ,gains 40 yds. Flag is thrown for holding near the end of run. Flag is spot of foul,mark back ten yards,ball is still 25 yards beyond l to g .Is it a first down even on a penalty? (high school)What about a block behind the back in same situation.The more I read my book the more confused I get.
After considering all live ball fouls if the ball is beyond the line ot gain it is a first down. A block in the back would be enforced the same way.

Not sure where your confusion arises. Please cite the rule that you are confused about.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:03pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by pinchmaster
Hi friends, newbie here.I have a question about enforcing penalty when penalty is past line to gain. 2ND and 10 ,run play,handoff to A1 ,gains 40 yds. Flag is thrown for holding near the end of run. Flag is spot of foul,mark back ten yards,ball is still 25 yards beyond l to g .Is it a first down even on a penalty? (high school)What about a block behind the back in same situation.The more I read my book the more confused I get.
Holding after yards were gained is 10 yards from the point where the ball was at the time the holding was initiated, 1D/10.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:05pm

I guess since everyone else is repeating my answer, I'll repeat it too. :D

If after enforcement, the ball is still beyond the line to gain, it's a 1st down.

It doesn't matter what the foul is.

Snake~eyes Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:41pm

After you mark off the penalty, if the ball is beyond the line to gain then you have a first down.

kdf5 Tue Nov 02, 2004 07:49am

If you have a foul where enforcement is from the succeeding spot (i.e. unsportsmanlike) then it's a first down after penalty enforcement even if enforcement takes the ball back between or behind the chains. Example: 2nd/8 from the 40, A runs to the 49, USC occurs, then mark off 15 from 49 (back to the 34) which goes behind the original line to gain, set the chains and 1st/10 A's 34.



[Edited by kdf5 on Nov 2nd, 2004 at 07:55 AM]

BktBallRef Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
After you mark off the penalty, if the ball is beyond the line to gain then you have a first down.
:)

Too many Type A personalities around here. ;)

Warrenkicker Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
After you mark off the penalty, if the ball is beyond the line to gain then you have a first down.
:)

Too many Type A personalities around here. ;)

I think now I am going with your answer. :D

That is unless you want a first and -15. ;)

mcrowder Tue Nov 02, 2004 09:38am

No -everyone is wrong. If the ball is across the line to gain after penalties are marched off, you have a first down.

;)

Snake~eyes Tue Nov 02, 2004 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
No -everyone is wrong. If the ball is across the line to gain after penalties are marched off, you have a first down.

;)

But I thought if the ball is beyond the line to gain after the penalties are walked off then you would have a first down?

mcrowder Tue Nov 02, 2004 03:16pm

Nope... if the ball is beyond the line to gain after the penalties are walked off then you would have a first down.

North Pole Alaska Ref Tue Nov 02, 2004 03:54pm

How can all of you be wromg! It is a first down!

James Neil Tue Nov 02, 2004 04:16pm

Who's on first?

Jaysef Tue Nov 02, 2004 04:38pm

Got me thinking
 
What if the ball is ACROSS the line to gain after penalty enforcement?

Seef

kdf5 Tue Nov 02, 2004 04:41pm

Re: Got me thinking
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jaysef
What if the ball is ACROSS the line to gain after penalty enforcement?

Seef

First down!!

Bob Mc Tue Nov 02, 2004 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Nope... if the ball is beyond the line to gain after the penalties are walked off then you would have a first down.
Hey, You guys must do it differently. Over here we march off penalties never walk them. :p

Texoma_LJ Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:02pm

Re: Got me thinking
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jaysef
What if the ball is ACROSS the line to gain after penalty enforcement?

Seef

Is "ACROSS" the same thing as beyond... if it is, I believe it would be a first down

Ed Hickland Wed Nov 03, 2004 07:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by pinchmaster
Hi friends, newbie here.I have a question about enforcing penalty when penalty is past line to gain. 2ND and 10 ,run play,handoff to A1 ,gains 40 yds. Flag is thrown for holding near the end of run. Flag is spot of foul,mark back ten yards,ball is still 25 yards beyond l to g .Is it a first down even on a penalty? (high school)What about a block behind the back in same situation.The more I read my book the more confused I get.
Back to the beginning.

5-2-5b
. . . Following a foul, a series of downs ends when:

b. Acceptance or declination of any penalty leaves A in possession beyond the line-to- gain.

When a live ball foul occurs you consider the enforcement spot and penalize from that spot. If the ball ends up beyond the line to gain you can award a first down. If not, it is a replay of the down, that is, if the foul does not allow a replay.

If a foul occurs that is enforced as a dead ball, that would include a USC foul, it would be enforced from the succeeding spot not the spot where the foul occurred.

That is why it is important to distinguish personal fouls from USCs. A player striking a player is a personal foul not a USC. The enforcement spot would be different.

For those who remember Halloween Night in Georgia last year the confusion there was a live ball foul was committed during a run. But the officiating crew enforced it from the succeeding spot like an unsportsmanlike conduct.




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1