The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Clock status after scrimmage kick? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16204-clock-status-after-scrimmage-kick.html)

verticalStripes Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:39pm

Game Clock is running. A punts the football on fourth down from their own 40. B catches the ball at their own 20 and got tackled inbounds at their own 25. At the snap, A is flagged for illegal formation ( 6 men on the line). B accepts the penalty for illegal formation. A is moved back 5 yards from the previous spot. Does the clock start on the ready?

MJT Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:15am

In NF, "clock starts on the snap when either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick.
In NCAA "in all cases the game clock starts on the snap after a legal kick."

Jim S Sun Oct 31, 2004 04:19am

Since the ball became dead inbounds, in the field, and no team was awarded a new series, the clock starts on the ready under fed rules.
Makes no difference whether the clock was running before the play. The snap started a new play and the clock status at the end of that play is what counts.

verticalStripes Sun Oct 31, 2004 07:45am

Thanks Jim S. We were using Fed Rules and got it right on the field.

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 31, 2004 09:52am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by verticalStripes
Game Clock is running. A punts the football on fourth down from their own 40. B catches the ball at their own 20 and got tackled inbounds at their own 25. At the snap, A is flagged for illegal formation ( 6 men on the line). B accepts the penalty for illegal formation. A is moved back 5 yards from the previous spot. Does the clock start on the ready?
Before the 3 minute warning: on the ready.

After the 3 minute warning: on the snap.

jumpmaster Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:30am

Arkansas ruling!
 
During a varsity contest, the clock starts on the snap. During a Jr. High contest the clock starts on the RFP, as per "the 1995-1996 NFHS rules."

I asked our state association to provide me with a copy of the 95-96 rule book b/c I was not calling football then. No response.

I asked for a quotation from the rule book. No luck.

Sometimes I think these guys are really Canadians...

:D

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:36am

Re: Arkansas ruling!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jumpmaster
During a varsity contest, the clock starts on the snap. During a Jr. High contest the clock starts on the RFP, as per "the 1995-1996 NFHS rules."

I asked our state association to provide me with a copy of the 95-96 rule book b/c I was not calling football then. No response.

I asked for a quotation from the rule book. No luck.

Sometimes I think these guys are really Canadians...

:D

They would be so lucky. ;)

Theisey Sun Oct 31, 2004 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MJT
In NF, "clock starts on the snap when either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick.
In NCAA "in all cases the game clock starts on the snap after a legal kick."

+_+ Almost on the NF part. If the kicked ball rolled OOB or if the team-R receiver fair caught the ball, the clock would start on the SNAP if the penalty against team-K was accepted.
Neither team was awarded a new series, but as you hopefully see, the clock still starts on the snap.

JimS posted the correct result.

MJT Sun Oct 31, 2004 05:51pm

Ya, I stated the rules, but really did not answer the question. Jim S is correct.

Jim S Sun Oct 31, 2004 06:38pm

Jumpmaster, what you are saying is pretty much what we do. The 'new' timing rules for varsity, and the 'old' timing rules for non-varsity.
Under the old rules you go with the RFP after changes of possession, including after a free kick, as long as the ball remains in the field of play. (I normally use this as the start of a 'faster' clock on blow-outs, It's the least obvious speed-up you can do.)
The rule on this question howver would be the same under BOTH sets of rules. The clock should start on the RFP. Just because there is a kick does not mean that for the next play the clock will start on the snp. There must be a new series for that to happen.

jumpmaster Sun Oct 31, 2004 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jim S
The rule on this question howver would be the same under BOTH sets of rules. The clock should start on the RFP. Just because there is a kick does not mean that for the next play the clock will start on the snp. There must be a new series for that to happen.
Sorry - my mistake. I thought the question referred to R after the new series was awarded.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1