Punter in scrimmage kick formation. Low snap, punter moves two steps right, retrieves ball, and begins punting motion (ie steps forward and releases ball to kick). BEFORE he kicks the ball, he is smashed in chest by team B player. As he falls backward, he kicks ball backward into endzone, where it is covered by team B. Player who hit him did not hit ball. Touchdown, or roughing?
Approved rulings provide contradictory DICTA (sorry--I'm a lawyer)--Approved ruling #I contains this language: "There is no kicker until the ball is actually kicked"
Approved ruling VI contains this language: "When it becomes obvious that A1 intends to kick (in a normal punting position), defensive players must avoid him."
Neither approved ruling applies directly to what happened, although VI is closer.
In short, taking out the bobble, if a punter is in scrimmage kick formation, preparing to punt, can he be hit, tackled, etc., BEFORE he kicks the ball, or is he entitled to protection since he is trying to punt?
|