The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 27, 2004, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
What rule are you using to get to this interp? Linemen are penalized 5 yards if they move before the snap, right? The "snap" being the same time that the defense can enter the NZ, right?

Seems you're contradicting yourself here.
You missed the first part of the snap rule. The snap "begins" when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. Interpretation: When the snapper moves the ball, this signals the start of a play--movement allowed.
Art 3. The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or any player. Interpretation: This completes a legal snap.

Section 1, Art 3. A snap shall, if elected, put the ball in play when a free kick is not specified. Interpretation: If the center does not move the ball backward and release the ball (snap) then the ball never becomes live.

Linemen can move when the offense or center signals the start of a play (beginning of a snap).

I feel like I'm repeating myself a lot but I don't see where anything I have said is contradicting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1