The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Kick off (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16111-kick-off.html)

kkid091 Mon Oct 25, 2004 09:54am

Kicking team kickoff's using a high pooch kick which does not touch the ground, and, after it goes 10 yards is caught by the kickers. The question is do we have a penalty, if so what is it? Or do we have first touching, and the receiving teams ball, at the spot of first touching?

ABoselli Mon Oct 25, 2004 09:56am

KCI. It didn't meet the two requirements which must happen in order for K to recover legally - touches the ground and goes 10 yards. It went ten, but did not touch the ground. Awarded fair catch at the spot of the foul or 15 yard penalty and rekick.

kdf5 Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:09am

Don't have a rule book here but first touching occurs only in the 10 yard free kick zone and applies whether the ball is still in the air or has touched the ground.

ABoselli Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:44am

Free kicks have to meet both requirements.

Once it touches the ground, you would have first touching by K if they touch it before it goes 10. If it goes 10 and it has touched the ground and A recovers, A's ball at the spot of recovery. If it never touches the ground, whether it goes 10 yards or not, KCI.

In any case, K cannot advance.

ABoselli Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:52am

If it is touched by K in the 10 yard zone (or beyond) and it has not touched the ground, KCI. If it touches the ground, then first touching.

kdf5 Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ABoselli
If it is touched by K in the 10 yard zone (or beyond) and it has not touched the ground, KCI. If it touches the ground, then first touching.
I think I read a play in the case book that you can have both first touching and KCI in the free kick zone on an in flight ball. Don't have it in front of me but the rule, I think, just says touches the ball and no distinction between a grounded and in flight ball. Since I don't have the books with me I'm probably wrong but at least I think that's what I read.

Warrenkicker Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:22pm

You can't have KCI on a grounded kick. That is why on-side kicks are bounced off of the ground. You can have KCI on a kick in flight anywhere on the field. K touching any kick untouched by R in the free-kick zone is first touching.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1