The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Question regarding PSK (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16102-question-regarding-psk.html)

FBFAN Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:58pm

This is a question regarding High School football in California

Team 1 has the ball, 4th and 8. They decide to punt. During the punt, team 2 has 12 men on the field. Team 2 fields the punt and is tackled for no gain.

The flag was thrown and Team 2 was penalized from the spot where they were tackled and kept the ball.

The ref said Team 2 keeps the ball even with 12 men on the field, due to the Post Scrimmage Kick rule.

Is this correct?

Shouldn't team 1 get the ball back?

What is the PSK rule?

Thanks in advance.

BoBo Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:30pm

Fed rule tells us that Illegal participation should be enforced from the previous spot.

cowbyfan1 Mon Oct 25, 2004 03:25am

Yes this is not a PSK type infraction and the Fed has stated that it will go back to the previous spot and mark off 15 yards. So in this case the kicking team will have the ball 1st and 10.
We had a long discussion on this on this board in the beginning of the season and I emailed the Fed on it for a ruling, that is what they replied with.

TBone6 Mon Oct 25, 2004 08:17am

This is not a PSK. K should have kept the ball.


RazorRef Mon Oct 25, 2004 08:18am

Exactly...PSK ONLY occurs when K fouls during the kick and R has final possession.

ABoselli Mon Oct 25, 2004 09:42am

Exactly...PSK ONLY occurs when K fouls during the kick and R has final possession.


You mean "R fouls"?

RazorRef Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:01am

How'd that K get in there? Yes, I meant R.

Bob M. Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RazorRef
Exactly...PSK ONLY occurs when K fouls during the kick and R has final possession.
REPLY: Just to clarify, PSK fouls do not need to occur <u>during</u> the kick. However, they must occur <u>prior</u> to the end of the kick. And, of course, meet all of the other PSK criteria. Just remember, that the PSK 'window' opens at the snap and closes when the kick ends. True for NF and NCAA.

WyMike Mon Oct 25, 2004 04:05pm

Where is the "end of the kick"? Where R catches the ball? Or where the down ends when R posseses the ball?

Theisey Mon Oct 25, 2004 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
Where is the "end of the kick"? Where R catches the ball? Or where the down ends when R posseses the ball?
Got a rule book? If so, see Definition 2-23-2.

verticalStripes Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:06pm

Does the Fed have this clarification on their webpage or somewhere else?

Bob M. Wed Oct 27, 2004 08:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by verticalStripes
Does the Fed have this clarification on their webpage or somewhere else?
REPLY: If you're referring to the clarification about when the PSK window opens, see NF 2-16-2g, or NF 10-4-3b. Curiously, the Comments on the 2004 Rules Revisions on p.76 does fail to mention it. However, see Situation 5 on p.4 of the Case Book. There, it's quite clear that the window opens at the snap.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1