The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Eligible/Ineligible? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16000-eligible-ineligible.html)

WyMike Wed Oct 20, 2004 08:22am

1)Tackle A72 is not covered on the end of his line, ball is on A's 30. A) A72 goes downfield to the 35 during a pass play. B) A72 catches a pass on his 29.

2)Tight End A82 is covered by the wideout on A's 30. A) A82 goes downfield to the 35 during a pass play. B) A82 catches a pass on his 29.

1AAUMP Wed Oct 20, 2004 08:58am

1) ineligible by number
2) ineligible by position

JamesBond Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:15am

Ineligble in both cases under NFHS rules. 1st by number and 2nd by position.

WyMike Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:40am

Can A72 report to an official as an eligible then?

Axe Man Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:44am

Not in Federation rules.

Ed Hickland Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
1)Tackle A72 is not covered on the end of his line, ball is on A's 30. A) A72 goes downfield to the 35 during a pass play. B) A72 catches a pass on his 29.

2)Tight End A82 is covered by the wideout on A's 30. A) A82 goes downfield to the 35 during a pass play. B) A82 catches a pass on his 29.

1)A) Ineligible downfield (by number), 5 yards from previous spot. B) Pass interference, 15 yards from previous spot and loss of down.

2)A) Ineligible (by position) downfield, 5 yards from previous spot. B) Pass interference, 15 yards from previous spot and loss of down.

Players must be eligible by both position and number to catch a forward pass.

[Edited by Ed Hickland on Oct 20th, 2004 at 11:08 AM]

Patton Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ed Hickland
1)A) Ineligible downfield (by number), 5 yards from previous spot. B) Pass interference, 15 yards from previous spot and loss of down.

2)A) Ineligible (by position) downfield, 5 yards from previous spot. B) Pass interference, 15 yards from previous spot and loss of down.

Players must be eligible by both position and number to catch a forward pass.

[Edited by Ed Hickland on Oct 20th, 2004 at 11:08 AM]

The passes caught by A72 & A82 are behind the LOS, making the foul an illegal touch (5 yards and loss of down) not OPI.

GPC2 Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:39pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but......
 
.....if the pass is completed behind the line of scrimmage there is no foul in either of the "A" scenarios right?

Bob Mc Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:48pm

Re: Correct me if I'm wrong, but......
 
Quote:

Originally posted by GPC2
.....if the pass is completed behind the line of scrimmage there is no foul in either of the "A" scenarios right?
That would be right

Theisey Wed Oct 20, 2004 02:11pm

partially true... The completed pass would have to be a BACKWARDs pass.

Patton Wed Oct 20, 2004 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Theisey
partially true... The completed pass would have to be a BACKWARDs pass.
No, you can have ineligibles downfield as long as the pass (forward or backwards) is completed behind the LOS.

ScottV Wed Oct 20, 2004 05:51pm

A72 can not catch a forward pass on either side of the LOS.

Ed Hickland Wed Oct 20, 2004 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ScottV
No, you can have ineligibles downfield as long as the pass (forward or backwards) is completed behind the LOS.

A72 can not catch a forward pass on either side of the LOS.

Ineligibles cannot catch a forward pass anywhere but I stand corrected on OPI behind the LOS, that is an illegal touch, only 5 yards and loss of down.

Ineligibles can be downfield on a forward pass if the forward pass does not cross the LOS.

Theisey Wed Oct 20, 2004 07:16pm

Sorry if I misread the additonal question, but I thought (and still do) that the person was asking about if those "ineligibles" in the original post in (a) and (b) can catch a pass if it was behind the LOS.

That's why I answered partially true if it were a backwards pass.

We all know that a pass called a screen pass, is a pass that does not cross the NZ. Therefore any numbered player can be downfield blocking without breaking the pass rules.

BktBallRef Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:33pm

Re: Re: Correct me if I'm wrong, but......
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob Mc
Quote:

Originally posted by GPC2
.....if the pass is completed behind the line of scrimmage there is no foul in either of the "A" scenarios right?
That would be right

No, that's not correct. If a forward pass is caught by an ineligible behind the LOS, it's illegal touching.


Bob Mc Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:25am

Re: Re: Re: Correct me if I'm wrong, but......
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob Mc
Quote:

Originally posted by GPC2
.....if the pass is completed behind the line of scrimmage there is no foul in either of the "A" scenarios right?
That would be right

No, that's not correct. If a forward pass is caught by an ineligible behind the LOS, it's illegal touching.


Yes that is correct. A scenario had both downfield neither one catching the pass. But you are also correct. If a forward pass is touched/caught by an ineligible behind the line it is illegal touching.

[Edited by Bob Mc on Oct 21st, 2004 at 11:29 AM]

MI Official Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:31am

clarification..
 
so, is it my understanding that an ineligible that catches a ball downfield has comitted OPI, and behind the LOS it is illegal touching. or did I miss something.

MJT Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:32am

You are correct. Ill touch if behind NZ, OPI if beyond.

PSU213 Thu Oct 21, 2004 07:44pm

Re: clarification..
 
Quote:

Originally posted by MI Official
so, is it my understanding that an ineligible that catches a ball downfield has comitted OPI, and behind the LOS it is illegal touching. or did I miss something.

Fed rules.

The ineligible just needs to touch (and it can be totally unintentional) the pass downfield for it to be OPI.

For it to be illegal touching, the ineligible must make some sort of intentional effort to touch the ball (if the ball hits a blocking lineman in the back, and he is totally clueless as to what is going on with the pass, there is no illegal touching).

TBone6 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm

Both cases are correct. By number and by position.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1