The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   YOU MAKE THE CALL! (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15866-you-make-call.html)

BoBo Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:01pm

1st and 10 on A's 30

A22 runs around left end and B29 grabs and twists A22's facemask at A's 33.

A22 breaks free and cirlces back to the right.

B35 tackles A22 at A's 26.

YOU MAKE THE CALL!

bigwes68 Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:04pm

All but one principle -- penalize 15 yards from A's 26 since this is the end of the run; it will be 1-10 for A at its own 41.

BoBo Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:11pm

thank you
 
Some of my boys felt you had the old and I hate to say it "penalize them where it hurts them the worst"
I know we have gone down this road before with this axiom but this proves my point tonight. They wanted to go from the spot of the foul. My vote was the final vote.

The actual play tonight was as stated above but A22 actually fumbled the ball at his own 26 (A's 26) and it went back another 4 yards and B recovered the ball.

As the White Hat I bean bagged the spot of the fumble.

This bag represented the end of the run and this was my penalty enforcement spot 15 yards and 1st and 10 for A due to reaching the line to gain with the penalty yardage.

Snake~eyes Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:42am

No defensive penalties can be spot fouls, unless change of posession.

Bob M. Wed Oct 13, 2004 02:13pm

REPLY: Same principle applies in this play. 3rd and 8 from A's 40. QB retreats to A's 22 where he is tackled by the face mask. RULING: A, 3rd and 11 from A's 37. A suffers a net loss in yardage from the previous spot, but gets to play the down over. Hard one to explain to A's coach!

mcrowder Wed Oct 13, 2004 02:55pm

DPI 5 yards downfield is not a spot foul in Fed?

BktBallRef Wed Oct 13, 2004 03:10pm

OOPS!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BoBo


The actual play tonight was as stated above but A22 actually fumbled the ball at his own 26 (A's 26) and it went back another 4 yards and B recovered the ball.

As the White Hat I bean bagged the spot of the fumble.

This bag represented the end of the run and this was my penalty enforcement spot 15 yards and 1st and 10 for A due to reaching the line to gain with the penalty yardage.

I don't think so. If the ball was fumbled behind the LOS, then you have a loose ball play. The enforcement should have been from the previous spot.

BktBallRef Wed Oct 13, 2004 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
DPI 5 yards downfield is not a spot foul in Fed?
No. PI is always from the previous spot.

PSU213 Wed Oct 13, 2004 08:18pm

Re: thank you
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BoBo
"penalize them where it hurts them the worst"
I don't want to go around on this again, but I really am starting to hate this "axiom."

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:52pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BoBo
1st and 10 on A's 30

A22 runs around left end and B29 grabs and twists A22's facemask at A's 33.

A22 breaks free and cirlces back to the right.

B35 tackles A22 at A's 26.

YOU MAKE THE CALL!

UR before YG is applied at PLS or PBD.

So, A 1D/10 @ A-45.

cmathews Thu Oct 14, 2004 09:35am

Re: OOPS!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by BoBo


The actual play tonight was as stated above but A22 actually fumbled the ball at his own 26 (A's 26) and it went back another 4 yards and B recovered the ball.

As the White Hat I bean bagged the spot of the fumble.

This bag represented the end of the run and this was my penalty enforcement spot 15 yards and 1st and 10 for A due to reaching the line to gain with the penalty yardage.

I don't think so. If the ball was fumbled behind the LOS, then you have a loose ball play. The enforcement should have been from the previous spot.


Yep I was thinking the same thing when I came upon your post BBR...

andy1033 Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:07am

Kick catch interference can be a spot foul by the defense.

mcrowder Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:09am

?

In Fed, do you call the kicking team the defense and the receiving team the offense? Shouldn't they be called "the kicking team" and "the receiving team"?

Snake~eyes Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:06am

We call them A/K and D/R

Bob M. Fri Oct 15, 2004 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by andy1033
Kick catch interference can be a spot foul by the defense.
REPLY: Technically, KCI must occur before the kick ends. Therefore, KCI is a foul by the offense since Team possession still belongs to K at the time of the foul. However, you're right that KCI does have a rather unique type of enforcement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1