The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   How 'bout this play??? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15750-how-bout-play.html)

KWH Wed Oct 06, 2004 08:51am

1) A68 take a position as the widest player on the line of scrimmage.
2) At the snap A68 retreats so he is 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage.
3) A1 throws a clearly backward pass to A68 who then in turn throws a forward pass to A44 who advances the ball across B's goal line.

OR
Same play as above however A68 was an interior lineman at the snap.





[Edited by KWH on Oct 6th, 2004 at 09:56 AM]

cmathews Wed Oct 06, 2004 08:58am

Legal in both a and b

Theisey Wed Oct 06, 2004 09:06am

Any team-A player can receive a backwards pass... Any team-A player can throw a forward pass.

KWH Wed Oct 06, 2004 04:55pm

I guess there are no fish in this stream
 
Just thowing a line in the water to see if I got any bites.
It seems one of our white hats incorrectly flagged this play as an "Illegal Touch".
FYI - An illegal touch can only occur when a forward pass is caught, batted, or muffed by an ineligible behind the line.

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:06pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
1) A68 take a position as the widest player on the line of scrimmage.
2) At the snap A68 retreats so he is 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage.
3) A1 throws a clearly backward pass to A68 who then in turn throws a forward pass to A44 who advances the ball across B's goal line.

OR
Same play as above however A68 was an interior lineman at the snap.

Play 1: Legal. A68 is the # of an interior lineman (40-69), therefore he must have reported to the Referee prior to the snap, since as the widest pplayer on the LS, he is in a eligible position. If he didn't report, flag the play, let the play go, and penalized 5 yards for illegal procedure. Cancel the TD.

Play 2: Legal. No need to report to the Referee.

James Neil Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:50pm

Re: Canadian Ruling
 
[/B][/QUOTE]

Play 1: Legal. A68 is the # of an interior lineman (40-69), therefore he must have reported to the Referee prior to the snap, since as the widest pplayer on the LS, he is in a eligible position. If he didn't report, flag the play, let the play go, and penalized 5 yards for illegal procedure. Cancel the TD.

Play 2: Legal. No need to report to the Referee. [/B][/QUOTE]What code of rules are you referring to here? Certainly not NFHS.

KWH Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:02am

Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
Play 1: Legal. A68 is the # of an interior lineman (40-69), therefore he must have reported to the Referee prior to the snap, since as the widest pplayer on the LS, he is in a eligible position. If he didn't report, flag the play, let the play go, and penalized 5 yards for illegal procedure. Cancel the TD.

Play 2: Legal. No need to report to the Referee. [/B][/QUOTE]What code of rules are you referring to here? Certainly not NFHS. [/B][/QUOTE]

James,
JugglingReferee is referring to Canadian rules, eh.
Do you understand, eh?
They use twelve players to make ten yards in 3 plays, eh.
It is an exciting game and fun to watch, eh.
However, it should be noted that the CFL game is best observed when there is 4 feet of snow on the ground and a Labbot's in your right hand, eh!

JugglingReferee Thu Oct 07, 2004 07:40am

Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
Play 1: Legal. A68 is the # of an interior lineman (40-69), therefore he must have reported to the Referee prior to the snap, since as the widest pplayer on the LS, he is in a eligible position. If he didn't report, flag the play, let the play go, and penalized 5 yards for illegal procedure. Cancel the TD.

Play 2: Legal. No need to report to the Referee. [/B][/QUOTE]What code of rules are you referring to here? Certainly not NFHS. [/B][/QUOTE]

KWH is correct.

At the top of each messge I post, if it refering to Canadian rules, you will see the text "Canadian Ruling" or "Canadian Philosophy".

There are times where the Cdn ruling will be the same as an American ruling (Fed or NC2A), and there are times where the uniqueness of our game comes through.

In any event, as mentioned, having a cold one in your hand is best when watching the game. Don't forget your toque as you leave the house! ;)

chiefgil Sat Oct 09, 2004 09:14am

Know the Rule
 
Make sure you understand the rule as it is written. When you have to explain that one to the Defensive Coordinator, it may take a little while for it to sink in.

If you know the rule, stand your ground.

Jim S Sat Oct 09, 2004 11:31am

JugglingReferee, please be careful of your phrasology. "having a cold one in your hand" means a number of things in Canada..... besides you're getting JN excited!

Theisey Sat Oct 09, 2004 02:13pm

Re: I guess there are no fish in this stream
 
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
Just thowing a line in the water to see if I got any bites.
It seems one of our white hats incorrectly flagged this play as an "Illegal Touch".
FYI - An illegal touch can only occur when a forward pass is caught, batted, or muffed by an ineligible behind the line.

### Did he just not know the rule or did he beleive the first pass to A68 was forward?

KWH Sun Oct 10, 2004 11:59pm

Re: Re: I guess there are no fish in this stream
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Theisey
Quote:


### Did he just not know the rule or did he beleive the first pass to A68 was forward?
Unfortunatly he did not know the rule!
At that time, (in that game) he thought that any pass caught behind the line by an ineligible number was an illegal touch.
He has learned the rule the hard way; by erroring in a rule enforcment. Hopefully he does not <b>ever</b> make the same mistake twice. While a backward pass caught behind the line to a player wearing a number of 50 thru 79 <b>IS</b> an unusual play, there is still no real excuse for erroring on a rule!!!

Theisey Mon Oct 11, 2004 07:08am

I guess the sad part is no one came to his rescue. Someone else on the crew had to have known something was not right about the enforcment or for that matter about the reason for the flag.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1