|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			This happened this afternoon, opening kickoff of a junior high game: K1 kicks off. R1 fields the ball at his own 5 and starts running. K2 grabs R1's face mask on the tackle. R1 fumbles. K3 picks it up and runs into the end zone. Our referee gave R the ball and marked off the face mask penalty, first down and away we go. No one complained. Was that right? And now that I sit here and think about it, can K even advance a fumble like that? Sorry to sound dumb - I've done four games in five days and my legs and brain are fried. 
				__________________ "And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			R can accept the penalty and have the ball first and 10 either 5 yards or 15 yards from the spot of the foul.  (If the facemask occurred during the fumble/loose ball then it would be 5 or 15 from the end of the run which you bean bagged.) The 5 or 15 yards is dependent on the severity of the facemask. If you had no fumble K could recover the kick off and advance it. You are probably thinking of a muff on a kick that can not be advanced. 
				__________________ "Call what you see and see what you call!" | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			NFHS, NCAA, NFL: 1. The penalty (5 or 15yds) is enfored from the end of the related run, the spot of R's fumble. 2. Yes, K may advance the ball because its a fumble. K may not advance kicks. Hope that helps 
				__________________ Doc | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				If it smells like a kick...
			 
			
			A kick is a kick, is a kick, until the ball is possessed by R.  At that instant the kick play is over, now you have a running play.  If R fumbles, then it is wide open.
		 
				__________________ CW4 Paul Gilmore Installation Food Advisor Camp Beauregard Alexandria, LA Louisiana NG | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Thought so. Thanks. We were confident in the call, and talked it over at the half, but it's good to have it re-confirmed here. 
		 
				__________________ "And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			(NF) Any player on either team can catch or recover any fumble and advance it. Team-K players can NEVER advance a ball whose status is still a kick. As noted, the the status of a kicked ball remains a kick until team-R has secured possession or blown dead. If team-K does secure possession of a kicked ball, it's dead at that point. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Careful about that word "never"...
			 Quote: 
 Scrimmage kicks recovered by K in or behind the NZ may be advanced (e.g. blocked punt). | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |