The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Crazy Kickoff (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15656-crazy-kickoff.html)

mcrowder Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:50pm

Interested in the FED ruling on this. Had this in an NCAA game the other night, and we actually had to get the book out to rule correctly (which, frankly, was embarrasing, but the coaches understood).

Scoring team USC (spiking) on the TD, PF after the try. Kicking off from their 12 1/2. Kicker kicks a line-drive slightly to the left of center, and hits R's helmet. Ball flies back over K, and rolls out of bounds in the endzone.

Ruling?

Snake~eyes Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:57pm

Man taking the rulebook out is really bad, who even had it on them to begin with?

I've got a saftey though.

kdf5 Thu Sep 30, 2004 04:01pm

I'd agree with a safety. What did you rule?

mcrowder Thu Sep 30, 2004 04:15pm

This was actually an 8th grade game, and I was the most experienced on the field, at 3 years. Two of us said safety, and vaguely had the reason right too. The other 2 said touchback, and one had a book on him.

How does the rule read in FED that makes this a safety. It seems to me the NCAA book was unnecessarily wordy on the subject (and I don't normally say that!)

JRutledge Thu Sep 30, 2004 04:41pm

Safety
 
I would have a safety as well. The kick never ends under FED Rules. I do not think pulling out the rulebook is a good thing, but you do what you gotta do.

Peace

biglaz Thu Sep 30, 2004 05:52pm

"The muffing or batting of a pass, kick, or fumble in flight is not considered a new force."

Jim S Thu Sep 30, 2004 07:57pm

Of course under fed rules you wouldn't have been kicking from the 12 1/2. The USL would have been enforced on the try.

SoGARef Thu Sep 30, 2004 09:45pm

<b>Rule 6-4</b> If a kick becomes dead in K's endzone and the force is the kick or any other new force by K; then the ruling is a safety, if the kick is out of bounds or K has possession, including when the ball is loose. <i>Also it would be a touchdown if R is in possession.</i>

So it would be a safety.

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 01, 2004 05:44am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Interested in the FED ruling on this. Had this in an NCAA game the other night, and we actually had to get the book out to rule correctly (which, frankly, was embarrasing, but the coaches understood).

Scoring team USC (spiking) on the TD, PF after the try. Kicking off from their 12 1/2. Kicker kicks a line-drive slightly to the left of center, and hits R's helmet. Ball flies back over K, and rolls out of bounds in the endzone.

Ruling?

This is on the PAT attempt, right?

If so, the PAT is unsucessful.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1