The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
NFHS

4th and 6 from k's 40

K is in scrimmage kick formation.

K2 punts the ball and R12 partially blocks the ball and it goes straight up but very short.

R22 attempts to catch the football at K's 45.

a) in a panic K54 tackles R22 while he is attempting to catch the ball?

Kick catching interference (Is this correct?)


b) in a panic K54 tries to catch the ball while R22 attempts to catch the ball?

Kick catching interference (Is this correct?)


c) R22 calls for a fair catch?

Legal fair catch (Is this correct?)






Same scenarios but the ball never passes the neutral zone, K38

a) illegal use of hands or holding on K (is this correct)


b) legal play(Is this correct?)K could advance it as well.


c) fair catch is not acknowleged since the ball did not cross the neutral zone (Is this correct?)Is play blown dead then have an ivalid fair catch penalty??


Just a wild play we saw at the lower level and some of other things that could result. We were arguing as to what effect the deflection/block by R could possibly cause?
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 461
Send a message via AIM to jumpmaster Send a message via MSN to jumpmaster Send a message via Yahoo to jumpmaster
i'll try...

1a, 1b, 1c correct calls.

2a holding on K, 9-2-1c.
2b K may catch and advance the ball, 6-2-3.
2c FC signal is ignored, no penalty for invalid signal b/c 2-9-4.
__________________
Alan Roper

Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
I understand the fair catch is not legal but do we have an obligation to protect the receiver?

Or could a smart reciever use this as way to decieve the kickers to gain advantage?

Or is it pretty much everybody for themselves on this play?
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
If the ball is caught in 2C it is not a fair catch, but the ball immediately becomes dead when he catches it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
If the ball is caught in 2C it is not a fair catch, but the ball immediately becomes dead when he catches it.
Yup, it's dead.

4-2-2
The ball becomes dead and the down has ended:
g. Following a valid or invalid fair-catch signal given by any member of the receiving team when a scrimmage kick or free kick is caught or recovered by any member of the receiving team beyond, in or behind the neutral zone.

Has to be past the NZ for it to be a fair catch though; 6-5-2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 01, 2004, 06:41am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

a) restraining zone foul and unnecessary roughness. R 1D/10 @ K-35.

b) legal to try to catch the ball.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1