The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 29, 2004, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Question

NFHS

Casebook 8.3.3 Situation: During a try a fumble by A1 is nearly at rest on the 3 yard line when a muff by B1 is judged to be a new force causing the ball to go into B's end zone where B2 recovers and: (a) downs the ball in the end zone; or (b) advances to his 10 yard line.

Ruling: The try ends and the ball becomes dead when B2 recovers. In any ordinary down , such a dead ball in the end zone would be a safety, therefore, one point is scored for A in both (a) and (b). B cannot score during a try down. (4-2-2i; 8-1; 8-5-2b)
-----------------------------------------------------------

I'm having a hard time imagining this scenario - how can A score a safety on a try? and how is anything scored in situation (b)?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1