The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Brain Tease (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15586-brain-tease.html)

mikesears Mon Sep 27, 2004 09:21am

3/35 from the A-15. Team A comes to the line and snaps it to the QB (A1) who is in shotgun formation. A1 quick punts and it is blocked behind the neutral zone by B1. A1 then goes after the ball and recovers it on his knees at the A-10.

Results of play, and clock status please.


mcrowder Mon Sep 27, 2004 09:31am

Guessing, since I'm an NCAA guy, and my entire knowledge of FED is from reading you guys' posts.

4th and 40 from the 10, clock never should have stopped, so it continues running.

Again - just guessing.

Hand Signals Mon Sep 27, 2004 09:34am

I would have to agree. 4th & 40, clock running.

[Edited by Hand Signals on Sep 27th, 2004 at 01:03 PM]

KWH Mon Sep 27, 2004 09:34am

4th and 40
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
3/35 from the A-15. Team A comes to the line and snaps it to the QB (A1) who is in shotgun formation. A1 quick punts and it is blocked behind the neutral zone by B1. A1 then goes after the ball and recovers it on his knees at the A-10.

Results of play, and clock status please.


Result of play is:
4th and 40 from the A-10
Clock status is: Still running as it should have never been stopped!

mikesears Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:46am

Re: 4th and 40
 
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
3/35 from the A-15. Team A comes to the line and snaps it to the QB (A1) who is in shotgun formation. A1 quick punts and it is blocked behind the neutral zone by B1. A1 then goes after the ball and recovers it on his knees at the A-10.

Results of play, and clock status please.


Result of play is:
4th and 40 from the A-10
Clock status is: Still running as it should have never been stopped!

Should have known I couldn't stump you guys. NCAA, it WOULD have stopped and been started on the snap, right?

KWH Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:53am

Re: Re: 4th and 40
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:

Should have known I couldn't stump you guys. NCAA, it WOULD have stopped and been started on the snap, right?
I am not aware of any (rule difference) reason as to why this situation would be any different under NCAA rules.

JugglingReferee Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:48am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
3/35 from the A-15. Team A comes to the line and snaps it to the QB (A1) who is in shotgun formation. A1 quick punts and it is blocked behind the neutral zone by B1. A1 then goes after the ball and recovers it on his knees at the A-10.

Results of play, and clock status please.


4th and 40 from the 10, clock never stopped.

In league where only 3 downs are played, it is unlikely to see a quick kick, but nonetheless, the ruling is:

Distance not gained - B 1D/10 @ A-10. Clock stopped on the whistle, clock starts on teh RFP prior to the 3MW, and the snap after the 3MW.

mcrowder Mon Sep 27, 2004 01:12pm

No, no need to stop the clock on this play in NCAA either.

SouthGARef Mon Sep 27, 2004 03:09pm

Hmmm...

4th & 40... clock running.

jimbulger1 Mon Sep 27, 2004 03:20pm

need more info i think before ruling------edit read wrong
 
i read it wrong i thought he said blocked in the back>>>>> behind the neatral zone whoops


[Edited by jimbulger1 on Sep 27th, 2004 at 04:24 PM]

biglaz Mon Sep 27, 2004 03:26pm

Re: need more info i think before ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jimbulger1
wait a second.......

a's intent is a to kick the ball away
did b block in the back before the kick or during???
if before i agree on 4th and 40
if after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone how is this different than a 4th down PSK foul....just because it is third down??? i dont think you would penalize different

if its after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone I say 1st down and 10 ball spotted 10 yards behind where the kick ended.... clock starts on snap


There was no block in the back. B blocked the kick. Though you might want to also review the definition of PSK :)


biglaz Mon Sep 27, 2004 03:28pm

Nevermind me then, you fixed it too quickly :p

Snake~eyes Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:00pm

Re: Re: 4th and 40
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
3/35 from the A-15. Team A comes to the line and snaps it to the QB (A1) who is in shotgun formation. A1 quick punts and it is blocked behind the neutral zone by B1. A1 then goes after the ball and recovers it on his knees at the A-10.

Results of play, and clock status please.


Result of play is:
4th and 40 from the A-10
Clock status is: Still running as it should have never been stopped!

Should have known I couldn't stump you guys. NCAA, it WOULD have stopped and been started on the snap, right?

lol Mike, to be honest that was an easy one, gotta try harder next time

Patton Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:03pm

Re: Re: need more info i think before ruling
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by biglaz
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by jimbulger1

There was no block in the back. B blocked the kick. Though you might want to also review the definition of PSK :)

No PSK since the ball never crossed the expanded neutral zone, but then again no PSK since there was no penalty on the original play either. :)

mikesears Tue Sep 28, 2004 06:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
No, no need to stop the clock on this play in NCAA either.
Wasn't this a legal kick and doesn't the clock start on the snap after a legal kick?

NCAA Rule 3-2d.

[Edited by mikesears on Sep 28th, 2004 at 08:26 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1