The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Ruling of Illegal Fwd Pass (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15577-ruling-illegal-fwd-pass.html)

ljudge Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:32pm

I'm interested in seeing what most of you would call in this particular situation. Text book answer is illegal forward pass, I believe.

Here's the situation. I'm working my 2nd game as R in an intense and very emotional game. It wasn't a boaring game by any means although the score suggests that.

Last night - Game on the line....A's ball with no timeouts and driving and trailing 2-0. A has no timeouts. In a rush to spike the ball at B's 7 with 8 seconds remaining the QB takes the ball and raises his arm so he can spike the ball but the ball slips from his grasp as he was about to throw it down. He tries to possess the ball and kind of adds to the momentum of the ball as it's going toward the ground. The ball hits the center in the leg, rolls loose, B recovers with 3 seconds....game over (after a kneel down of course). My and my U were on top of the call and ruled a fumble and my supervisor was standing on the track and approached us afte the game indicating it was the correct call.

But I got to thinking about what might have happened. My question is the following. There is a case book question about the QB muffing a snap then grabbing the ball which hit the ground, THEN hitting the snapper in the leg. WHAT IF??? What if he successfully possessed the ball with a direct hand-to-hand snap and then hit the center in the leg in his attempt to spike. Would YOU call that an illegal forward pass? At the risk of looking like a bonehead I'm thinking I might call that.

And...be real clear with B on the penalty options as acceptance would give an untimed down if the clock expires (clock on RFP). If B declines start the clock on the RFP from the end of the run. And hope my car starts OK.

Thoughts? I appreciate any comments. Without a doubt it was my first "real" test as a referee.


biglaz Sun Sep 26, 2004 08:17pm

Why are you starting the clock on the RFP?

mikesears Sun Sep 26, 2004 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ljudge
I'm interested in seeing what most of you would call in this particular situation. Text book answer is illegal forward pass, I believe.

Here's the situation. I'm working my 2nd game as R in an intense and very emotional game. It wasn't a boaring game by any means although the score suggests that.

Last night - Game on the line....A's ball with no timeouts and driving and trailing 2-0. A has no timeouts. In a rush to spike the ball at B's 7 with 8 seconds remaining the QB takes the ball and raises his arm so he can spike the ball but the ball slips from his grasp as he was about to throw it down. He tries to possess the ball and kind of adds to the momentum of the ball as it's going toward the ground. The ball hits the center in the leg, rolls loose, B recovers with 3 seconds....game over (after a kneel down of course). My and my U were on top of the call and ruled a fumble and my supervisor was standing on the track and approached us afte the game indicating it was the correct call.

But I got to thinking about what might have happened. My question is the following. There is a case book question about the QB muffing a snap then grabbing the ball which hit the ground, THEN hitting the snapper in the leg. WHAT IF??? What if he successfully possessed the ball with a direct hand-to-hand snap and then hit the center in the leg in his attempt to spike. Would YOU call that an illegal forward pass? At the risk of looking like a bonehead I'm thinking I might call that.

And...be real clear with B on the penalty options as acceptance would give an untimed down if the clock expires (clock on RFP). If B declines start the clock on the RFP from the end of the run. And hope my car starts OK.

Thoughts? I appreciate any comments. Without a doubt it was my first "real" test as a referee.


It hit the ground, then his leg coach. :D

BktBallRef Sun Sep 26, 2004 09:32pm

I have an incomplete pass. Why would you have anything any different? He immediately threw "the ball forward to
the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap." It doesn't say that it's illegal if it accidentally hits the leg of a lineman.

If you go looking for trouble, you'll find it.

BTW, this is an oldie. We've discussed it before.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Sep 26th, 2004 at 10:34 PM]

ljudge Mon Sep 27, 2004 06:06am

I see your points and they're well taken. Thank you for the responses. From what I read in the case book it made me think that perhaps the ball hitting a lineman would make the pass illegal. Situation 7.5.2B (page 53) is close to that except the ball ricochets into the air and then he throws the ball. So it got me thinking what if all he did was hit his leg. It's clear I'm reading to much into it.

But any way I'm glad I asked the question. I'd rather look like a bonehead asking a question and finding out here before I did something stupid in a game.

To answer the question about starting on the RFP...IF the pass had in fact been illegal then invoke 3.6.3 since it was an illegal attempt to conserve time.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1