The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
The kick hasn't ended, any time a kick goes into R's EZ we have a TB.
Incorrect. Unlike NFHS, impetus ("force") can be considered on kicks entering R's endzone at this level. If the covering official determines that R provided new impetus to the ball, it is a safety. If the muff did not provide new impetus, it is a touchback. When in doubt, there was not new impetus.

Remember, this applies to a free kick. On a scrimmage kick punt the same would be true if R touched the ball. However, a new rule this year on scrimmage kicks is similar to the Fed. rule:
on a scrimmage kick that is untouched by the receiving team and crosses the receiving team's goal line from the impetus of the kick, the ball is dead as soon as it touches the ground or a member of the kicking team on or behind the receiving team's goal line.

Hope that clears things up
Jonathan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1