The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 19, 2004, 03:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Question

Quite an interesting ruling. The Linesman may have been a newer official and may not have understood that silly restrictions are placed on the offense, but even then it's possible to enter a man after the huddle breaks.

Today I had a game where I was the umpire and a number of times one of the teams place too few players on the field. Once I counted 9, and at least 4 times I counted 10. They always got their 11th man in though. The catch to the defensive side of the ball is that the player has to meet two requirements to be considered eligible: At the snap, the player must (1) be on the field, and (2) be on his team's side of the neutral zone. If he meets requirement #1, but fails to meet #2 by the snap, then we've got encroachment. If two men step on the field (on their own side) just before the snap and participate (provided it doesn't put them over 11), it's perfectly legal and play shall continue.

-Craig
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1