The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Joint possesion (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15346-joint-possesion.html)

Texoma_LJ Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:45am

A passes and ball is possesed jointly by a member of A and B. A is inbounds and B is out of bounds when joint possesion takes place.
Incomplete pass ?
Would this also be true if a fumble is recovered by A who is inbounds and by B who is laying on the ground with a portion of his body OB and they both gain joint possesion.

Ive been trying to understand rule 2-28 and am still confused with the exceptions.

James Neil Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by Texoma_LJ
A passes and ball is possesed jointly by a member of A and B. A is inbounds and B is out of bounds when joint possesion takes place.
Incomplete pass ?

I'd give A the catch. This doesn’t qualify as a simultaneous catch. . NF 2-4-3 “A simultaneous catch or recovery is a catch or recovery in which there is joint possession of a live ball by opposing players who are inbounds.”. So I’m thinking the ball is live because NF 2-28-1 says “A player or other person is out of bounds when any part of the person is touching anything, other than another player or game official, which is on or outside the sideline or end line". The A player could actually jerk the ball away and advance if he's not already down
Quote:

Originally posted by Texoma_LJ

Would this also be true if a fumble is recovered by A who is inbounds and by B who is laying on the ground with a portion of his body OB and they both gain joint possesion.

Ive been trying to understand rule 2-28 and am still confused with the exceptions.

If B is first to touch the loose ball then it's dead and belongs to the team last in possession . If it's at the same time then we'd have the same result.

Jim S Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:58am

Except for one thiing Jimmy. You forgot the principle of "touching preceeds possession" A live ball that is touched by a player who is OB is dead at the instant of touching. If they touch it at the same time The ball is also dead.
2.28.1 exempts a player OB from making a ball carrier OB so that a player cannot just touch a runner, therreby ending a play. [you have to take his flag ;>)]

[Edited by Jim S on Sep 12th, 2004 at 01:03 PM]

SoGARef Sun Sep 12, 2004 01:05pm

NF 2004 Casebook, Pg. 55 Comment: "... opposing players must have simultaneous joint possession, and both must be in contact with the ground inbounds..." In your example the ball would belong to the team last in possession.

The Roamin' Umpire Sun Sep 12, 2004 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Texoma_LJ
A passes and ball is possesed jointly by a member of A and B. A is inbounds and B is out of bounds when joint possesion takes place.
Incomplete pass ?

Yes. A loose ball is OOB the instant it is touched by a player who is OOB. There is no possession on this play.

Quote:

Would this also be true if a fumble is recovered by A who is inbounds and by B who is laying on the ground with a portion of his body OB and they both gain joint possesion.

Ive been trying to understand rule 2-28 and am still confused with the exceptions.

Same principle - this is a fumble OOB, just as if it had crossed the sideline at that point untouched.

mcrowder Mon Sep 13, 2004 09:09am

I think joint possession is a violation of most schools' drug policy and should be enforced by local authorities.

Snake~eyes Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I think joint possession is a violation of most schools' drug policy and should be enforced by local authorities.
good one lol :D

SJoldguy Wed Sep 15, 2004 08:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I think joint possession is a violation of most schools' drug policy and should be enforced by local authorities.
good one lol :D

That is FUNNY!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1