The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
Question

In a 7th grade game using NFHS, the coach previewed us on some plays that might be confusing. One was a screen pass that his lineman would go downfield about 4-5 yards before the ball was passed, but his fullback would catch it behind the neutral zone so it wouldn’t be an ineligible receiver downfield. Not being sure, I checked on it quick. All I could find was Table 7-5 #3, Ineligible Receiver Downfield.

It states: Ineligible A players may not advance across the expanded neutral zone before the last pass which crosses the neutral zone is in flight unless touched by B in or behind the neutral zone.

This doesn’t seem to be on point because the coach said the ball would be caught behind the neutral zone, not crossing the neutral zone in flight.

They didn’t run the play, so it was a non-issue.
Can someone please help me out with this, though?

In NFHS, is it an foul ineligible receiver downfield foul on a forward pass that is caught behind the neutral zone as I’ve described in the example above?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1