The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Penalty following change of possession (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15118-penalty-following-change-possession.html)

jimmiececil Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:11am

B24 intercepts A's pass and during the return the covering official blows an inadvertent whistle. B24 was at A's 9 yard line when the whistle sounded. The box is set and just prior to the ready for play, B's coach requests and is granted a time out. B's coach is irate, feeling that a sure touchdown has just been taken away and he sounds off at the official who had the inadvertent whistle. He is subsequently flagged for an unsportsmanlike conduct. After marking the penalty, are the chains reset or is it 1st and G at the 24 yard line?

According to what we have been told, it should be 1 and 10 from the 24, but I think this gives the team penalized an advantage. What does everyone else think?

PiggSkin Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:26am

Once the chains are set, they will not be reset unless a first down is gained... Usually, the coach will earn his Unsportsmanlike foul before the chains are set, so it would be first and 10...

However, in your scenario, it sounds like the chains were set before the USC was earned... So we had first and goal at the nine, then the 15 yard penalty was issued... Back up the ball, but there is no reason to move the chains... First and goal at the 24...

jack015 Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by PiggSkin
Once the chains are set, they will not be reset unless a first down is gained... Usually, the coach will earn his Unsportsmanlike foul before the chains are set, so it would be first and 10...

However, in your scenario, it sounds like the chains were set before the USC was earned... So we had first and goal at the nine, then the 15 yard penalty was issued... Back up the ball, but there is no reason to move the chains... First and goal at the 24...

The criteria is not when the box is set but when the ball is made ready for play. If the foul takes place prior to RFP, as described above, it is 1st and 10 at the 24. If foul occurs after RFP, it is 1st and goal at the 24.

SeanWest Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:39am

I respectfully have to disagree with my esteemed coleague PiggSkin...

According to 5-3-1:

"The line to gain is 10 yards in advance of the ball's foremost point when a new series of downs is awarded. When a new series of downs is awarded, the penalties for all fouls (including nonplayer and unsportsmanlike) committed prior to the ready-for-play signal shall be administered before the line to gain is established. The line to gain then remains fixed until the series ends and a new line to gain is established."

Therefore, a new series can never have more than 10 yards to gain regardless of how many penalties are applied before the series starts. Whether or not the chains have already been set is irrelevant. The chains don't establish the line to gain or the ready for play, they just mark the line to gain after it's already been established. If the line changes due to penalties then reset the chains.

I think if this were the NFL that you'd be right about 1st & Goal but my understanding of the philosophy of the rule is that at the high school level (and below) beginning a series with more than 10 yards to gain is too much of a burden on the kids. After all, they're already getting pushed back 15 yards.

-SW---

GPC2 Thu Aug 26, 2004 01:21pm

SeanWest,

Check out 2-25-5:

The line to gain is the yard line established when a new series (first down) is awarded. Unless there is a penalty following the ready-for-play signal, the line to gain is 10 yards in advance of the foremost point of the ball when placed for the first down of the series. If the line to gain extends into the end zone, the goal line is the line to gain.

PiggSkin Thu Aug 26, 2004 02:43pm

Who are you calling esteemed!?! Shows how little you know... :D

I stand corrected... The key moment is the RFP, not the chains being set...

Of course, I could just waffle out of this by saying that I don't consider the chains officially set until the RFP... ;)

So in your situation, the only way you would have 1st and goal would be if the coach requested his timeout after the RFP was blown...

KWH Thu Aug 26, 2004 03:20pm

No not quite...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PiggSkin
I stand corrected... The key moment is the RFP, not the chains being set...

So in your situation, the only way you would have 1st and goal would be if the coach requested his timeout after the RFP was blown...

Actually PiggSkin you are incorrect again.
If the coach takes his timeout after the RFP then such RFP is cancelled and the time out takes precidence. (Ie, the 25 second clock is reset!)
After the timeout is over a new RFP will (of course) be blown and only during that 25 second count will any UC penalty result in a 1st and 25 situation.

Perhaps an easier way to remember is this way,
The only way in which a new series can start with a 1st and 25 situation is if a UC penalty occurs while the 25 second clock is running.

I hope this makes sense and helps!

cmathews Thu Aug 26, 2004 03:35pm

KWH are you sure??
 
KWH,
without digging any further in the book than anyone else has....if the ball is made ready, then the line to gain is finalized so to speak isn't it?? if we now have a time out and a subsequent USC then I think the LTG would stay the same and make it 1st and goal from the 24 or 1st and 25...whatever the case may be...I think that the language about the RFP is in there such that once there has been an RFP then a subsequent USC during a timeout does not change the location of the LTG..?? just my thoughts...

PiggSkin Thu Aug 26, 2004 03:47pm

I'm taking a beating on this one...
 
KWH: Is there a case book play or something that you can point me to..?

The last sentence of the previously mentioned 5-3-1 is this:
<i>The line to gain then remains fixed until the series ends and a new line to gain is established.</i>

Following that, I don't see how we can "un-establish" the LTG, simply because a timeout was called...

Can you elaborate..?

KWH Thu Aug 26, 2004 05:18pm

I'm trying to help
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PiggSkin
KWH: Is there a case book play or something that you can point me to..?

The last sentence of the previously mentioned 5-3-1 is this:
<i>The line to gain then remains fixed until the series ends and a new line to gain is established.</i>

Following that, I don't see how we can "un-establish" the LTG, simply because a timeout was called...

Can you elaborate..?

Sure.
There are four "examples" of 5-3-1 in the 2004 Simplified and Illustrated Manual on pages 46, 47 & 48.
I realize these Case plays do not cover your specific example.
The intent of the rule is the only time a team can start a new series with a Line-to-Gain greater ten is when a dead-ball foul occurs during a time when all three of the below actions are happening:
a) After the ready for play,
b) While the 25 second clock is running, AND
c) Prior to the snap.
If you do not have all three of the above you shall move the chains after enforcement to make the new series 1st and 10.
If you do have all three of the above the new series may start with a Line-to-gain greater than 10.

I will keep searching for more background on this for you.

SeanWest Thu Aug 26, 2004 06:55pm

First Down and 99
 
GPC2, You're right... I didn't mean that it is never possible for A to have 1st and greater-than-10. Of course if they get penalized after the series starts (RFP) then they could have 1st and 15 or whatever.

But what I meant was that on that very first RFP whistle on a new series of downs they will have 10 yards to gain... after that it's up to them to keep the ball going forwards and not backwards.

-SW---

jimmiececil Thu Aug 26, 2004 08:34pm

This play actually happend in a high school game last Friday.
A crew of officials in our association got in wrong and marked it 1st and goal at the 24 yard line.

I feel that this is a situation that needs to be addressed. Even though I certainly understand that the RFP had not been blown, the coach calling timeout stopped the action. His subsequent Unsportsmanlike foul was penalized, but I feel that his team also was given an advantage in having the chains reset for 1st and 10.

But, I guess if this is addressed and changed, it will probably open the door for all kinds of potential problems, so the RFP probably makes more sense.

I greatly appreciate each one of your comments and responses.

PS2Man Thu Aug 26, 2004 09:57pm

Oh my God.
 
What happen to this crew?

jimmiececil Fri Aug 27, 2004 06:58am

Nothing yet. No one caught it except for the Principal who is also a fellow official. The coach didn't complain because he didn't know. He was more aggravated at the inadvertent whistle. Luckily, his team scored on the series and won the game going away.

Jim S Fri Aug 27, 2004 01:30pm

The coach didn't know???? Wow, that's a first.

cmathews Fri Aug 27, 2004 02:02pm

Re: I'm trying to help
 
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
Quote:

Originally posted by PiggSkin
KWH: Is there a case book play or something that you can point me to..?

The last sentence of the previously mentioned 5-3-1 is this:
<i>The line to gain then remains fixed until the series ends and a new line to gain is established.</i>

Following that, I don't see how we can "un-establish" the LTG, simply because a timeout was called...

Can you elaborate..?

Sure.
There are four "examples" of 5-3-1 in the 2004 Simplified and Illustrated Manual on pages 46, 47 & 48.
I realize these Case plays do not cover your specific example.
The intent of the rule is the only time a team can start a new series with a Line-to-Gain greater ten is when a dead-ball foul occurs during a time when all three of the below actions are happening:
a) After the ready for play,
b) While the 25 second clock is running, AND
c) Prior to the snap.
If you do not have all three of the above you shall move the chains after enforcement to make the new series 1st and 10.
If you do have all three of the above the new series may start with a Line-to-gain greater than 10.

I will keep searching for more background on this for you.

KWH,
what do we have in this situation. 1st and 10 for A at B 25 yd line. RFP happens, false start by A, move the ball to the 30 1st and 15, RFP again, before the 25 second clock runs out we get a time out...during the time out there is an USC on coach from A...are you telling me it it will now be 1st and 10 from the B 45?? I think that once the RFP is blown the first time, and subsequent USC should not move the LTG... The wording in 5-3-1 specifically says subsequent which to me means that once an RFP is blown, the LTG is established...the timeout does not cancel the RFP...the ball was made ready for play any penalty now does not move the line to gain.

Jim S Tue Aug 31, 2004 02:32pm

Ok, I submitted this to our State Interpretor. He finally e-mailed back that it was the point of some long discussion. They have sent the specific question back to the NFHS for a ruling but they determined the same as I.
Purpose of the rule:
The rule was placed to prevent a team from having the 1 & long primarially after a change of possession, but it also works for any awarded new series.
The rule is designed to make a foul that was related to action included in the prior play not result in a long LTG in the new series. Continuation if you will.
Effect of the RFP:
The use of the RFP is the indicated starting point of the new series. Once any RFP has sounded we have started the new series and the LTG is 'permentally' established. The T.O. call does not take away the fact that the RFP has sounded and fullfilled the requirement of the rule. ANY foul after the RFP has sounded can result in a 1st and longer than 10.
So coaches, if you want to be an ***, do it before the RFP sounds. You can't buy off a USL penalty off with a T.O.

Forksref Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:02pm

RFP is the key!

KWH Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:17am

After further review...
 
Jim S is correct.
I have discussed this at length with some of the top guys in our state and we came to the same conclusion.
<b>RFP is the key.</b>
<u>Please disregard my previous posts and please accept my apologies regarding the 25 second clock as<b> I was incorrect.</b> </u>
Common sense prevails. <b>A coach is never be able to buy his way into a 1st and 10.</b>

<b>FYI</b> - I will submit a sample play of this to the NFHS (via a member of the editorial committee) for consideration of listing it as a CASE PLAY in next years CASE BOOK.






[Edited by KWH on Sep 1st, 2004 at 12:30 PM]

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 01, 2004 06:10pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jimmiececil
B24 intercepts A's pass and during the return the covering official blows an inadvertent whistle. B24 was at A's 9 yard line when the whistle sounded. The box is set and just prior to the ready for play, B's coach requests and is granted a time out. B's coach is irate, feeling that a sure touchdown has just been taken away and he sounds off at the official who had the inadvertent whistle. He is subsequently flagged for an unsportsmanlike conduct. After marking the penalty, are the chains reset or is it 1st and G at the 24 yard line?

According to what we have been told, it should be 1 and 10 from the 24, but I think this gives the team penalized an advantage. What does everyone else think?

I've actually heard some discussion that leaves it debateable. No consistency exists because there is a possibility of a delay between when the sticks are set and the whistle to signal RFP. My belief is that the RFP whistle is the point where the penalty application changes.

Therefore, I believe that 1D/10 @ 24 is the proper call.

cowbyfan1 Thu Sep 02, 2004 06:28am

I will ignore Canada as they can't even get their field size correct.. 8-P

So for those lost it will be 1st and 25 if the ready for play was blown and then the flag thrown.

If the RFP was not blown then it will be 1st and 10 from the 24 or whatever yard line 15 yards back take it to.

Of course keep in mind that you may have to explain to the other coach how it is 1st and 10 still if the RFP had not been blown and the chains were set.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1