The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Just had a meeting last night and the concensus was that 54 was True. It says:

If B1 tackles A1, who is obviously not the runner, it is defensive holding.

The rule reference I assume would be 9-2-3c.

I contend that 9-4-2b could also be a rules reference on this play and then make the question false. It states that a defensive player may not charge into or throw an opponent to the ground after he is obviously out of the play.

Say the QB hands off and as the play moves down field he backs away from the LOS watching his teammates. B1 then comes from his position and tackles him for some reason. That is a personal foul and not holding.

I know that if B1 tackles the pulling guard it is holding but what if B1 just takes a shot at the QB standing away from the play.

I know what the official answer for the test is and will answer it that way but it doesn't quite seem correct to me unless I am (once again) reading too much into the question.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1