The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Oh, sure ask for our help and then take it somewhere else to "get more opinions" LOL...for pete's sake the majority supported your decision too LOL.....so how did everyone take it any squalling from the affected howler monkey???
No howls from any of the monkies.

______________________________________

Thanks to cowboyfan1 for getting an official interp. I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Re: I emailed the NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Sent an email and I got a reply back..

R did not commit a PSK foul.



By rule (10-4-1a) the spot of the foul will be the previous spot. I would also reference you to Rule 2-16-2g.



If the penalty is accepted it would be first and ten for K at R’s 40-yard line.



Hope that helps.





Jerry L. Diehl

Assistant Director

National Federation of State High School Assn. (NFHS)

P.O. Box 690

Indianapolis, IN 46206

(O) 317-972-6900

(F) 317-822-5700

http://www.nfhs.org


So there it is folks.. Per the Fed it is not PSK thus administered from the previous spot.
Cowboyfan, good job. I stand corrected.

Hope that NY QB works for your boys.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 26, 2004, 07:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Definitely not PSK. Foul is simultaneous with the snap. The snap is never beyond the ENZ. PSK requires (spot of) foul to occur beyond ENZ. Those of us who say we don't have a spot aren't remembering that a foul simultaneuos with the snap is a previous spot foul.

Reverse this for a moment.
If two player are in motion, which one fouled and does it matter?

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 26, 2004, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 149
I too stand corrected. However, as usual, the editors at NFHS could stand to do some clarification on this one. At the front of the rule book under 2004 Football Rule Changes for Rule 2-16-2g it says, "Clarification has been made that a post scrimmage kick situation begins with the snap...."
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 26, 2004, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 26, 2004, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 235
Does not fit all the criteria?

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.

I might be wrong, but does the spot of the foul have to be beyond the expanded neutral zone?

This is not a spot foul. So how can you have PSK without this being a spot foul?
__________________
Treat everyone as you would like to be treated.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2004, 01:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Re: Re: I emailed the NFHS

Quote:


Cowboyfan, good job. I stand corrected.

Hope that NY QB works for your boys.
Well based off what I saw that Cowboy QB won't be much help to that NY team...8-)
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2004, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Re: Does not fit all the criteria?

Quote:
Originally posted by PS2Man
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.

I might be wrong, but does the spot of the foul have to be beyond the expanded neutral zone?

This is not a spot foul. So how can you have PSK without this being a spot foul?

I am unclear as to what is being asked.

In order for PSK to be used, ONE criteria is that the foul has to occur beyond the expanded NZ.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1