The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Is this a PSK foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15093-psk-foul.html)

BktBallRef Wed Aug 25, 2004 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
Oh, sure ask for our help and then take it somewhere else to "get more opinions" :D LOL...for pete's sake the majority supported your decision too LOL.....so how did everyone take it any squalling from the affected howler monkey???
No howls from any of the monkies.

______________________________________

Thanks to cowboyfan1 for getting an official interp. I appreciate it.

Ed Hickland Wed Aug 25, 2004 08:55pm

Re: I emailed the NFHS
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Sent an email and I got a reply back..

R did not commit a PSK foul.



By rule (10-4-1a) the spot of the foul will be the previous spot. I would also reference you to Rule 2-16-2g.



If the penalty is accepted it would be first and ten for K at R’s 40-yard line.



Hope that helps.





Jerry L. Diehl

Assistant Director

National Federation of State High School Assn. (NFHS)

P.O. Box 690

Indianapolis, IN 46206

(O) 317-972-6900

(F) 317-822-5700

http://www.nfhs.org


So there it is folks.. Per the Fed it is not PSK thus administered from the previous spot.

Cowboyfan, good job. I stand corrected.

Hope that NY QB works for your boys.

mikesears Thu Aug 26, 2004 07:01am

Definitely not PSK. Foul is simultaneous with the snap. The snap is never beyond the ENZ. PSK requires (spot of) foul to occur beyond ENZ. Those of us who say we don't have a spot aren't remembering that a foul simultaneuos with the snap is a previous spot foul.

Reverse this for a moment.
If two player are in motion, which one fouled and does it matter?


SoGARef Thu Aug 26, 2004 10:46am

I too stand corrected. However, as usual, the editors at NFHS could stand to do some clarification on this one. At the front of the rule book under 2004 Football Rule Changes for Rule 2-16-2g it says, "Clarification has been made that a post scrimmage kick situation begins with the snap...."

mikesears Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:06pm

I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.


PS2Man Thu Aug 26, 2004 09:33pm

Does not fit all the criteria?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.


I might be wrong, but does the spot of the foul have to be beyond the expanded neutral zone?

This is not a spot foul. So how can you have PSK without this being a spot foul?

cowbyfan1 Fri Aug 27, 2004 01:18am

Re: Re: I emailed the NFHS
 
Quote:



Cowboyfan, good job. I stand corrected.

Hope that NY QB works for your boys.

Well based off what I saw that Cowboy QB won't be much help to that NY team...8-)

mikesears Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:09am

Re: Does not fit all the criteria?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PS2Man
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
I think all they are saying is that the window for PSK opens at the snap. Last year, it opened after the ball crossed the neutral zone.


I might be wrong, but does the spot of the foul have to be beyond the expanded neutral zone?

This is not a spot foul. So how can you have PSK without this being a spot foul?


I am unclear as to what is being asked.

In order for PSK to be used, ONE criteria is that the foul has to occur beyond the expanded NZ.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1