The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2004, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
OK, here is one where I am in disagreement not only with veteran officials, but also with the manuals. I apologize in advance for the wordiness of the post.

Following a fair catch deep in its own territory late in a half the offense will snap the ball. During the next play, A2 completes a pass to B's 30. B2 roughed passer A2 as time expired on the play. A's captain requests a free kick at B's 15. Ruling:request granted. The period is extended for the free kick.

Case Book 6.5.4: R1 signals for a fair catch beyond the neutral zone on K's 40. K2 interferes with R1's opportunity to make the catch. R chooses an awarded catch and to put the ball in play with a snap. During the down: (a)A gains 15 yards and the coach of B is charged with an unsportsmanlike foul; or (b)B2 commits pass interference; or (c)an inadvertent whistle sounds during A1's forward pass. RULING: In (a), the unsportsmanlike foul during the down does not give A another choice to snap or free kick. However in (b), A may snap or free kick following penalty enforcement. In (c), the down is replayed and A has the option to snap or free kick.

Rule 6-5-4: The captain may choose to free kick or snap anywhere between the inbounds lines on the yard line throught the spot of the catch when a fair catch is made or throught the spot of interference, when a fair catch is awarded. These choices remain if a dead-ball foul occurs prior to the down, or a foul or an inadvertent whistle occurs during the down and the down is replayed.

Here is my beef: Pass interference and roughing the passer are fouls that are penalized by 15 yards and an automatic first down. It is my contention that an automatic first down DOES NOT constitute a replayed down, rather it is an awarding of a new series. I feel that based on the way the rule is written, the case book is incorrect in the enforcement of situation (b) in 6.5.4. Furthermore, I feel that the spirit of the rule is correct and the verbiage should be changed in 6-5-4 to omit/change the words "down is replayed."

If a quarterback is roughed on 2nd down, are we replaying 2nd down, or are we awarding a new series and playing 1st down? Am I off-base in my interpretation of a "replayed down"?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1