The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   2 situations (https://forum.officiating.com/football/14962-2-situations.html)

schmitty1973 Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:37am

We had a game yesterday and these 2 things happened : (NCAA rules)

1. On an extra point, the defender dives and lands on the ground and slides into the kicker knocking him down. It definetly was NOT roughing, but is there running into the kicker in NCAA?

2. QB scrambles and finally throws the ball to the RB is about 1 yard behind the LOS, but the RB gets decked before the ball gets there. Is that pass interference even though he was behind the line or doesn't it matter?


ABoselli Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:43am

1) Yes, running into the kicker - 1/2 the distance, replay the try.

2) As long as he is hit in the front and above the waist, it's legal. No DPI unless the ball crosses the NZ. If he tackles the reciever, it's def. holding. If he blocks him below the waist, that's the foul or if he clips or blocks him in the back, we have those fouls.

JugglingReferee Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by schmitty1973
We had a game yesterday and these 2 things happened : (NCAA rules)

1. On an extra point, the defender dives and lands on the ground and slides into the kicker knocking him down. It definetly was NOT roughing, but is there running into the kicker in NCAA?

2. QB scrambles and finally throws the ball to the RB is about 1 yard behind the LOS, but the RB gets decked before the ball gets there. Is that pass interference even though he was behind the line or doesn't it matter?


1. This is also, in Canada, Contacting the Kicker. It is penalized as follows:

Successful convert: (3.2.5.1b)
- accept the score and apply the 10 yards on the kick-off
- decline the score and apply the penalty at the PLS (which is the 5 in the GWN)

- why would someone decline the score and apply the foul on the convert? Well, half the distance from the 5 goes to the 2½, a much better spot to go for 2 points instead of kicking for 1.

Unsuccessful convert: (3.2.5.1c)
- apply foul on the KO and retry convert from PLS
- apply foul on the convert

2. The RB is an eligible pass receiver and being across/behind the LS has no bearing (sp?) on the play. The foul is penalized as an awarded first down at the PLS. (6.4.10.2a)

Mike


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1