The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Elgible Receivers (https://forum.officiating.com/football/14948-elgible-receivers.html)

Snappenhaggle Fri Aug 13, 2004 08:44am

4 WR 3 Lined up on the right side in a trips formation and 1 on the left side. A TE also on the left side. How do the 4 WR and TE have to lineup to be able to go out to be an elgible Receivers?

ABoselli Fri Aug 13, 2004 08:48am

The players on the ends of the line and players in the backfield are all eligible as long as they are wearing eligible numbers (anything except 50-79)

Most trips formations have the middle guy on the line with the guys on either side of him off the line. (looks like a triangle)

On the other side, if the TE is on the line (which, by definition, is where a tight 'end' is), the outside reciever must be off the line.

No matter how you slice it, there must be 7 men on the line.

Snappenhaggle Fri Aug 13, 2004 08:56am

Thank you for your fast reply. Also if they are all lined up on the line then only the players on the end are elgible to go out for a pass?

Another question if a Rb is running along the sideline and he fumbles the ball forward and it goes out of bounds. Do they get the ball back where it was fumbled at or where it went out of bounds?

ABoselli Fri Aug 13, 2004 09:06am

Yep - only those on the end of the line. If there is an eligible numbered man lined up on the line inside of the end man and he goes downfield, it is a foul for ineligible man downfield if a pass crosses the NZ. If he touches the pass, it's offensive pass interference, which is 15 yards from the previous spot and loss of down, and you don't want that.

So make sure those kids are lined up where they're supposed to be.

Snake~eyes Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snappenhaggle
Another question if a Rb is running along the sideline and he fumbles the ball forward and it goes out of bounds. Do they get the ball back where it was fumbled at or where it went out of bounds?
If you're playing under NFHS then its the RB teams ball where the ball went out. In NCAA I believe the ball goes back to the spot of the fumble.

Snappenhaggle Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:44am

Thanks for the reply snake ~ eyes

JugglingReferee Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:10pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Snappenhaggle
4 WR 3 Lined up on the right side in a trips formation and 1 on the left side. A TE also on the left side. How do the 4 WR and TE have to lineup to be able to go out to be an elgible Receivers?
In Canada (12 players), only the widest player on the line is eligible, and must be numbered properly (1-39, 70-99) All others on the line are ineligible (the 5 interior linemen, numbered 40-69).

Therefore, for trips on the right, the WR should be on the line and the other two eligible receivers must leave no doubt that they're at least a yard off the LS.

On the left, the TE is eligible and to remain eligible, the WR must also leave no doubt that (s)he is at least a yard off the LS.

On this play, there are 7 eligible pass receivers (the maximum). Everyone except the interior line.

sir_eldren Sun Aug 15, 2004 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snappenhaggle
4 WR 3 Lined up on the right side in a trips formation and 1 on the left side. A TE also on the left side. How do the 4 WR and TE have to lineup to be able to go out to be an elgible Receivers?
That's a pretty simple question to answer: On the left side, the TE must be on the line, the WR must be off. On the other side, however, any ONE of the WR's must be on the line, and the other 2 WR's MUST be off the line to be eligible. Usually the middle man will be on the line, as somebody stated previously, although it is acceptable to put any one of them on the line for whatever reason you'd like.

I think one of the oddest Trips formations I've seen was in an NFL game last year, although I don't remember who was playing. They had 4 WR's on the near side: the closest man to the ball was on the line, and then a WR was behind him, and two more stacked just outside of him. I think the pass was incomplete. *shrug*

-Craig

Ed Hickland Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snappenhaggle

Another question if a Rb is running along the sideline and he fumbles the ball forward and it goes out of bounds. Do they get the ball back where it was fumbled at or where it went out of bounds?

Anytime the runner loses possession drop a bean bag to mark the spot -- the yard line where possession was lost, it is not necessary to mark the exact spot. The ball will not change possession until a B player gains possession inbounds. Therefore, in answer to the original question, the ball is spotted where it goes out of bounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1