The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
VerticalStripes said "I would think that "touching inbounds" would still apply until A1 was Out of Bounds by rule."

You would be incorrect. I think where you are hung up is the inbounds verses out of bounds.
The extended goalline applies while the ball carrier is TOUCHING inbounds. It doesn't say while the ball carrier is inbounds. The player does nopt have to go OB for the extension to disappear, just go airborne.
The purpose of the distinction is to make the extension disappear when the ball carrier leaves his feet.
It makes a player go for the spot between the pylons, not dive as far outside as he can go. It also means that when a defensive player makes a good play and knocks the ball carrier off his feet OB, there is no TD scored even if the ball passes what would have been the goalline extended. Note that with the same contact, if the ball carrier maintains any contact with the field inbounds the goalline extended DOES exist and a TD may be scored.

[Edited by Jim S on Jul 30th, 2004 at 09:59 PM]
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1