The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   6 man mechanics questions (https://forum.officiating.com/football/14394-6-man-mechanics-questions.html)

mikesears Wed Jun 30, 2004 06:40am

I was working a semi-pro game two weeks ago as part of a 6-man crew. This league uses NFL rules (no modifications).

I was HL and we had a 3/G from the B-8. I am watching my key (TE) at the snap and read pass. I continued to watch the TE and the deep wing guy throws a flag. After the play, he calls an illegal contact foul because the DB was continuing contact after 5 yards. I didn't see it because I wasn't watching the outside reciever. After the foul was administered, I was scolded by the deep guy on my side for not helping him out with the call. He said, "I have no idea where 5 yards is so I need your help". I really wanted to say back to him, "That's why these lines are on the field" but I refrained.

My question: Should I be helping with the outside recievers, and if so, when do I begin helping after the snap?


Theisey Wed Jun 30, 2004 07:32am

Not your man to worry about. After you read pass, did you move down to the B-3? That was a mech change last season, to have the H move down field 5 yards when "pass" is read.
Sure, you might have seen this out of the corner or you eye, but I certainly would not be looking at the wide receiver.

Bob M. Wed Jun 30, 2004 07:52am

REPLY: Mike...I agree with Tom. It wasn't your primary responsibility. You might have seen something in your periphery, but probably not enough to allow you to throw. And, if you're watching the same thing as your SJ, there's something wrong.

ABoselli Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:10am

This situation takes place in a pretty compact area, too. If the 5 yards ends at the B3, that should be pretty easy for the SJ to ascertain. You can't let the TE get potentially held while you fish in his pond!

Bottom line - he's wrong.

Mike Simonds Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:25pm

I agree with you Mike.
 
Mike, from how you describe this you were responsible for the second receiver in, which in your play was the tight end. The side judge on your side was responsible for the flanker who was lined up outside of the tight end.

Sounds like you covered your proper receiver on the play.

In your mechanics for 6 man, does the HL go down field 5 yards when he reads pass or do you hold the line?

Tundra Ref Wed Jun 30, 2004 02:05pm

No modifications from the NFL? I believe no instant replay would be one. It is more likely for the SJ to help the HL out on a call because he has better upfield view, but rarely the other way around.

Bob Floyd Wed Jun 30, 2004 02:44pm

I work semi-pro games using NFL rules, also. We do have one major modification. Crowd noise rules are waived. (They hope to have enough fans to make a lot of noise). In response to your question, the deep guys have to know the limits of the 5 yard legal chucking area without help from the guys on the line, who have their own responsibilities. If he couldn't handle that call when the ball was snapped on the B8 how is he going to make the call when the ball is snapped on the 50?

Bob M. Thu Jul 01, 2004 02:52pm

REPLY: I asked a friend of mine about how the NFL handles this. True they have a seventh man, but it's clear how the play should be covered. First, illegal contact beyond 5 yards against an eligible receiver is the sole province of the official keying that receiver--no help from anyone else. The HL drifts 5 yards downfield and is primarily responsible for that belt. Typically, there will be a receiver dragging across the field. The HL picks up action by/against that receiver.

mikesears Fri Jul 02, 2004 06:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Tundra Ref
No modifications from the NFL? I believe no instant replay would be one. It is more likely for the SJ to help the HL out on a call because he has better upfield view, but rarely the other way around.
I guess there are a couple of modifications like no instant replay and they don't care about properly wearing uniforms. :)

mikesears Fri Jul 02, 2004 06:46am

Re: I agree with you Mike.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Simonds
Mike, from how you describe this you were responsible for the second receiver in, which in your play was the tight end. The side judge on your side was responsible for the flanker who was lined up outside of the tight end.

Sounds like you covered your proper receiver on the play.

In your mechanics for 6 man, does the HL go down field 5 yards when he reads pass or do you hold the line?

We slowly drift 5 yards downfield.

mikesears Fri Jul 02, 2004 06:50am

Thanks everyone! I've not worked a lot of 6-man and I appreciate the collective knowledeg of this forum.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1