The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2004, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim S
Nah Bob. None of those require a B player to be on his side of the LOS to Start the play.
2.8 defines encroachment (a place where no player can go)
2.24.3 only defines what is a defensive lineman, doesn't require anyone to be one.
7.16 again deals with encroachment. Again does not require that a B player be lined up on his side of the LOS, only that he not encroach the NZ.
A previous post stated that 7.2.5(a), Numbering requirements, was the only reference in the rules about where B could be. I was pointing out that there were other references and I still maintain they are all pertinent, although none of them relate to the original play in question. And I left out 3.7.6 which says an entering substitute shall be on his side of the neutral zone when the ball is snapped or free kicked. That's pretty clear. Now if you are going to say the player was not an entering substitute but one who was already in the game, then he also may not encroach. Take your pick of the rules making encroachment a foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1