The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Snake~Eyes - The 15 yard rule applies to A only... (7-2-1) Good thought, though...

Jim - I was going to get into the technicalities of encroachment after the last question was resolved, but since you brought it up...

Encroachment refers to being illegally in the neutral zone, but makes no reference to being beyond it... (Except for free kicks, where encroachment is defined as being beyond the free kick line...) I have found nothing that states it is a foul to be on the opposite side of the neutral zone at the snap...

So, by the strictest of interpretations, the 11th B player is not encroaching when he is on A's side of the ball... At the same time, he is not covered by the illegal substitution provisions (3-7) because he is not a substitute... So as long as he does not touch a player, touch the ball, give defensive signals, or cross the neutral zone to get back to his own side of the ball, he has committed no foul...

Obviously, this isn't correct... Please, someone find a rule that covers this...

(The only possibility I can come up with is by using 7-1-6 and adjusting the definition of "breaks the plane of the neutral zone" to include being beyond it...)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1