The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   What would be the ruling here? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/11959-what-would-ruling-here.html)

swordfish Thu Jan 29, 2004 08:03am

1st and 10, A's 40 yard line. On a passing play, WR A82 blocks cornerback B23 at the line of scrimmage. A8 throws a pass in A82's direction. B23 breaks off from the block and intercepts the pass, and is tackled at the A35 yard line. What would the call be? Would there be a flag on A82 for blocking, and what would the flag be for?

TXMike Thu Jan 29, 2004 08:42am

NCAA
 
OPI but penalty will likely be declined and B will have 1st and 10 at A-35. Otherwise it would be 1st and 25 for A at the A25.

Dale Smith Thu Jan 29, 2004 08:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by swordfish
1st and 10, A's 40 yard line. On a passing play, WR A82 blocks cornerback B23 at the line of scrimmage. A8 throws a pass in A82's direction. B23 breaks off from the block and intercepts the pass, and is tackled at the A35 yard line. What would the call be? Would there be a flag on A82 for blocking, and what would the flag be for?

Assuming that A82’s block was a legal block, in or behind the neutral zone, his action is legal, no flag. B's ball 1/10 at A35. You can’t have pass interference in or behind the neutral zone. If this block as you described, occurred beyond the neutral zone, I would have a foul for OPI. One thing that you have to watch for on this type of play is what really did happen. Did A82 deliberately block B23? Or did B23 initiate the block and disrupt A82 from running his rout? Did B23 hold A82? A lot can happen on this play in a vary short time period. The official responsible has to see the whole play to call this play properly.
Dale

swordfish Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:27am

Excellent, thanks for that. Does this mean then, that OPI can occur before the pass is thrown? I believe that DPI is only valid after the ball is thrown, otherwise it is Illegal Use Of Hands.

Snake~eyes Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:58am

Yep! That's correct, Illegal Use of Hands is the NFL's Illegal Contact Downfield, once it is ovious that the reciever is not a possible blocker then he cannot be touched.

Middleman Thu Jan 29, 2004 03:01pm

Re: NCAA
 
Quote:

Originally posted by TXMike
OPI but penalty will likely be declined and B will have 1st and 10 at A-35. Otherwise it would be 1st and 25 for A at the A25.
FED - 2nd and 25.

(Conditions as stated by others apply. Contact must be beyond the neutral zone, forward pass must cross the neutral zone, restrictions begin with the snap.)

[Edited by Middleman on Jan 29th, 2004 at 02:06 PM]

Bob M. Thu Jan 29, 2004 04:15pm

REPLY: Note the difference between NF and NCAA rules: OPI includes loss of down in Federation, but <u>not</u> in NCAA.

swordfish Fri Jan 30, 2004 08:00am

Great, thanks for clearing that up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1