![]() |
I was confronted with this situation recently. Team A lineman holds behind the line-of-scrimmage during a pass play. Continuing the same play quarterback rolls out to the right and throws a legal forward pass. While the ball is in the air, an inadvertant whistle is blown by an official. What is the proper ruling?
|
If the penalty is accepted, the IW is ignored.
If, for some reason, the penalty was declined, the down will be replayed. |
I agree. Someone around here, don't remember who, always says best thing that can happen with an IW is a penalty. :)
|
NCAA replay the down, and if accepted penalty is enforced.
10 yards from the previous spot. |
Accepted penalty prior to I.W.
Yes, if the penalty is accepted for a foul prior to the inadvertent whistle, you enforce the penalty and ignore the I.W.
Reminds me of my first year officiating. I think it was my first flag in a J.V. game. Working back judge, offense is on a long run towards the endzone, teammate clips an opponent, me throw flag and blow whistle while the play is in progress, me big-time red-face... The coach asked me why I blew my whistle but he smiled because he knew the play would be called back anyway. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28am. |