The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2000, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5
Question

In reading the rule book on penalty enforcement, I have a question on a play.

A's ball 1st and goal at the 5 yard line. A1 drops back to pass. A5 holds at the 8 yard line. A1 passes to A2 in the endzone and it is incomplete. B accepts the penalty for holding. Is the ball marked off from the 5 or the 8?

I say the 5. A loose ball play includes the run(s) that precede it, making this a foul during a loose ball play. The basic spot for a loose ball play is the previous spot (in this case the 5).

I am being told by several people (including the referee of our playoff crew) that since the spot of the foul is behind the basic spot (all but one rule) you mark it off from the 8. The case book agrees with me (10.4.2B on page 77 w/comment), however rule 10-6 All but One Principle does not.

DOES ANYONE KNOW THE CORRECT ANSWER

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1