![]() |
I had a friendly debate with another official. Kicking team needs to have a member hold the ball on the kicking tee. Typically the holder is on one knee and uses a finger to hold the ball in place. If his knee is in front of the ball is this legal ? I say no because the kicking team gains no advantage.
|
I would say yes, it is legal, because the kicking team gains no advantage.
|
If his knee is in front of the ball is this legal ? I say no because the kicking team gains no advantage.
oops , I meant to say yes. I hate when I make typo's. I agree with Tundra. |
It's not encroachment (not offsides) because the rule allows the holder and/or the kicker to be in the neutral zone.
|
Rule 6 Kicking the Ball and Fair Catch
SECTION 1 THE KICKOFF AND OTHER FREE KICKS ART. 3 . . . After the ball is ready for play and until it is kicked, no player, other than the kicker and the holder for a place kick may be beyond his free-kick line. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57pm. |