The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2003, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
NCAA and NFL rules please.

Team A fumbles the ball on Team B's 3 yard line into the end zone where team A falls on it. Is it a touchdown?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2003, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
In NCAA it depends on if this is 4th down and who recovers the ball. On 4th down the only team A player that may recover and advance is the player who fumbled the ball. If another A player recovers, the ball becomes dead and is brought back to the spot of the fumble. If this is down 1 to 3 then any player may recover the ball and score.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2003, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
NCAA and NFL rules are pretty much the same:

1st-3rd down. Yes, any player may recover a fumble and score a touchdown.

4th down. Only the fumbling player may recover the fumble for a touchdown.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2003, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Advancing a fumble

NFL rules: a fumble may not be recovered and advanced by a player other than the one who fumbled on all 4th down plays, all try for point plays and all plays in the last two minutes of each half. In these instances if a player other than the one who fumbled recovers, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 07:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Re: Advancing a fumble

Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Floyd
NFL rules: a fumble may not be recovered and advanced by a player other than the one who fumbled on all 4th down plays, all try for point plays and all plays in the last two minutes of each half. In these instances if a player other than the one who fumbled recovers, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
Thanks Bob. I have the NFL rulebook at home but was going from memory. There are differences between the NCAA rule and NFL rule because rules change in the NFL with limited time remaining.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
In the Vikings/Seahawks game yesterday, on 4th and inches...Culpepper does a QB sneak..extends the ball out past the first down line where it is batted out of his hands, Moe Williams then recovers the fumble two yards behind the line of scrimmage and runs for aobut a five yard gain. The refs, rule correctly that Moe cannot advance the fumble but spot it at the point that Moe recovered, and not at the spot of the fumble, thus no first down. Is this different because the ball went backward and not forward?
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I saw that too but the explanation that the R gave was that Culppepper did not reach the line to gain and the ball was spotted, after the review, where it was fumbled.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
For anyone who gets the NFL channel, its 212 DirectTV where I am. Watch NFL Total Access tonight. Every monday they have Director of Officiating Mike Pereira review all the calls from the week. I'm sure this will be one of them.

And if you don't get this channel then you can always read them on NFL.com. Here's one from Week 13 -> http://www.nfl.com/nflnetwork/story/6885774
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
Snake,

It's the best 10 minutes on TV for officials. They didn't cover that play but did cover the NE field goal over the goal post.

By the way, did you see they found Scott Dawson? LOL. Who REALLY wants to be an umpire??
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Yeap, I watched it. They didn't review the minnesota play like you said which was disappointing but oh well.


And man the way that umpire disappeared last week was amazing. And then the way he got leveled this week, I feel bad for the guy. lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1