The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 05:56am
Official Forum Member

I'm fairly new to NCAA football, having mostly seen NFL games and games in the UK that I officiate. I've been surprised at the amount of 'bad' calls by officials in the bowl games this year....what is the general opinion of NCAA refereeing?

Also, there seem to be a lot of flags thrown after TD's for unsportsmanlike conduct, which seems excessive. Are the refs told to clamp down on such behaviour?
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 09:38am
Official Forum Member

Officiating in games I've seen have been good, not great but certainly not bad. There have been some tough calls and most have been correct.

Excessive EZ celebrations have been a sore point for years and been flagged for just as long. Only in the NFL do they allow that crap.
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 11:19am
Official Forum Member

What is the NCAA rule for defensive PI in the end zone? If it were 3rd & 6 on the 17 yard line (going in). If the foul
occurs in the EZ I know its an automatic first down but is the penalty half the distance? I saw the crew put the ball on the 2. Is this the rule or did they miss it?
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 11:56am
Official Forum Member

I think I saw the same thing you did ump76. I don't have a NCAA rule book but the ref and the commentators explained that the pentalty is 15 yards regardless of the distance to the goal. i.e. the "half the distance" rule doesn't apply to that penalty.

(Though that does make me wonder what would have happened if the line of scrimmage was the 12 yard line instead of the 17. I'm sure one of you guys can tell us.)

-Sean---
Old Fri Jan 02, 2004, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by ump76
What is the NCAA rule for defensive PI in the end zone? If it were 3rd & 6 on the 17 yard line (going in). If the foul