The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2021, 05:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
Two fouls on a Punt

Little confusing on a punt play Friday night:

Punter gets roughed on a punt. Receiver catches ball, runs 40 yards down field and we have a blindside block by receiving team.

The discussion was in order for the Kicking team to keep the ball, they would have to decline the foul by R. Since both fouls were personal fouls, would they be enforced regardless of the change of possession?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2021, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorrydog View Post
Little confusing on a punt play Friday night:

Punter gets roughed on a punt. Receiver catches ball, runs 40 yards down field and we have a blindside block by receiving team.

The discussion was in order for the Kicking team to keep the ball, they would have to decline the foul by R. Since both fouls were personal fouls, would they be enforced regardless of the change of possession?
No. Maybe you're thinking about non-player or unsportsmanlike fouls. Here it's just 2 fouls by the same team during the same live ball, which in both Fed and NCAA are handled as you described.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2021, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
No. Maybe you're thinking about non-player or unsportsmanlike fouls. Here it's just 2 fouls by the same team during the same live ball, which in both Fed and NCAA are handled as you described.
So they would have to decline the blindside block to keep the ball correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2021, 09:32am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,846
The RTK took place by R before the kick ended, but likely happened (it only can) behind the LOS. So in order to have the ball from the RTK foul, you must decline the penalty during the return. You cannot enforce both, you can only pick one. So the logical choice is to keep the ball.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2021, 03:17pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,645
You have multiple fouls on R. K will select the one that is most advantageous- RTK is an AFD. BSB should be declined.

If this one was confusing, the crew might want to do a good hard read of Chapter 10 this week.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt blocked, can I punt again? REFUMPIRE Football 28 Mon Oct 17, 2011 06:14am
Fouls during punt return TNStripes Football 2 Sun Sep 04, 2011 09:40am
False Double Fouls and Simultaneous Fouls Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 14 Fri Feb 13, 2004 08:48am
Personal Fouls/Technical fouls Coach T Basketball 6 Thu Jan 30, 2003 09:35am
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? Pirate Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1