![]() |
Had a strange onsides kick last week. I believe it's legal under NF, but would like other's opinions.
Kicker places the ball on the ground on the 40, long axis parallel to the 40. All members of K are gathered the kicker. Kicker softly kicks the ball, which essentially started rolling (he has obviously practised this kick many times). The members of K all start moving forward surrounding the ball. Obviously, no one touches the ball. They block one or two members of R out of the way...kind of making a path for the ball to roll the required 10 yards. On the 11th yard, the kicker falls on the ball. K's ball 1st and 10. R's coach went nuts, but I couldn't come with any reason why it would be illegal. |
well, in NCAA rules, this is a foul. K cannot block in that 10 yard area.
Can't think of a restriction for Fed rules. Its grounded so there is no KCI. As long as K's blocks are above the waist and from the front, they are legal. Maybe I'm forgetting something, but seems OK. |
NCAA: Not only can they not block within the 10-foot area, but they cannot block ANYWHERE until the ball crosses the receiving team's restraining line.
|
Legal in NF. Only changed in NCAA about 10 years ago I think.
|
In NCAA Team A can block once they are eligible to touch the ball. So If B comes up into that area and touches the ball, A can then block.
|
NFHS experiment
We're actually using an experimental rule in Virginia that addresses this situation... K can't block during a free kick until they're legally allowed to touch the ball. It's a 5-yard illegal procedure penalty.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50am. |