The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Orange Bowl review (https://forum.officiating.com/football/104892-orange-bowl-review.html)

DRJ1960 Tue Dec 31, 2019 01:02pm

Orange Bowl review
 
UVA's final drive.

"Touchdown" on a throwback to the offensive tackle.
No flags on the play but after review a (deserved) penalty for an ineligible receiver.

I was surprised that the review official could call a penalty on something other than targeting. Are there other instances where the review official initiates a call? (i.e. on a scoring play could he call holding on a lineman?)

Thanks

bisonlj Thu Jan 02, 2020 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 1036432)
UVA's final drive.

"Touchdown" on a throwback to the offensive tackle.
No flags on the play but after review a (deserved) penalty for an ineligible receiver.

I was surprised that the review official could call a penalty on something other than targeting. Are there other instances where the review official initiates a call? (i.e. on a scoring play could he call holding on a lineman?)

Thanks

It's possible the ruling on the field is it was legal because it was backward and replay determined it was forward. Forward/backward is reviewable.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1