The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 24, 2019, 10:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If team-A lines up into an illegal formation and then shifts to a legal formation prior to the snap, is the play legal?
It is not an illegal formation until the snap. So yes an action that would be illegal at the snap is allowed to be changed into legal formation after being illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If two team-A players shift, and one player stops and becomes set, may the other player continue in sideways (or backward) motion during the snap?
No, that would be an illegal shift. They must come to stop before the other can go in motion or keep moving. Otherwise, they have violated the rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal and Illegal Shifts Mike246 Football 3 Wed Jun 05, 2013 02:30pm
Fed: shifts involving potential snapper Robert Goodman Football 12 Tue May 28, 2013 10:54pm
Shifts newref1 Football 13 Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:26pm
Shifts,Motions and Illegal touching U52 Football 7 Tue Sep 23, 2008 09:46pm
Two Motion Questions Patsfan2431 Football 11 Mon Oct 09, 2006 05:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1