The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Touchback....or not (https://forum.officiating.com/football/10429-touchback-not.html)

Patton Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:01pm

If K's unblocked scrimmage kick (field goal try) fails to cross the goal line and comes to rest at R's 2 with no one trying to possess it, is this a touchback...R's ball at the 2...what? Would it make a difference if you take the same scenario except that the attempt was partially blocked?

SWFLguy Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:11pm

I actually saw that in a high school JV game years ago.
R ball on the 2.
I believe any touching behind the LOS is ignored.
White Hat response ??

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:22pm

NCAA the defense gets the ball at the previous spot. See rule 8-4-2-b.

Patton Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:25pm

Sorry, I didn't specify, but I'm looking for federation rules. Thanks!

Bob M. Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SWFLguy
I actually saw that in a high school JV game years ago.
R ball on the 2.
I believe any touching behind the LOS is ignored.
White Hat response ??

REPLY: For Federation, the partial block behind the NZ is indeed ignored. It's still R's ball on R's 2. NCAA rule is different and R would get the ball at the previous spot if it is outside R's 20.

STEVED21 Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:28pm

The rule is the same for all scrimmage kicks in FED, punts or FG attempts. In this case its R's ball at the 2. The kick must enter the endzone to be a touchback. Any touching behind the NZ expanded is ignored.

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:33pm

So in FED, after a missed fieldgoal that travels through the EZ, the defending team gets the ball at the 20, and not the previous spot? Odd.

JamesBond Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mbcrowder
So in FED, after a missed fieldgoal that travels through the EZ, the defending team gets the ball at the 20, and not the previous spot? Odd.
That is correct. When the FG crosses the goal line and doesn't go through the uprights, its a touchback in NF. Odd indeed.

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:56pm

I know some schools around here that would LOVE that rule. Punter can barely punt a first down in most cases, whereas the kickers could usually get the ball downfield much further.

sm_bbcoach Tue Oct 14, 2003 03:37pm

As those white hats have said, it is R's ball at 2, touching behind ENZ is ignored.
I always ask myself, why don't teams attempt a FG instaed of a punt at the 35 or 40? Wost case blocked, but that happens in a punt as well. Next worst case, ball touch back at 20. then if ball is downed by an alert K member, it puts R back in a hole. I truley believe that MANY coaches in HS (nf) are under the imprression that it goes back to the spot of the kick. The ones who know, are the ones who attempt them.

We had a game a few weeks back, kicker is booming 35+ FG's in warm up. Came upon a 4/15 from the B-36. They punted??? Ball through the end zone touch back. Then again almost same location in 3rd, they went for it on a 4/12. They were winning. I just thought to myself, why not. So I know the coach, saw him a few days later and asked him (in a non-arm chair coach mode). He said I di dnot want to give them the ball at the 40. I said you woudl not have. He said I was wrong. Got his book, blushed and said s---. Another one different. Now I know. Just goes to show you. SOME coaches really do not know the rules of the game they are coaching.

Warrenkicker Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm

A field goal is basically just a punt that can score three points and most people don't realize it. There are a few things different but not many.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1